Smile Newbie in Windows

Hello,

This is a real newbie question perhaps, I've been working on windows millenium for my life since my computer specs were too low...so now I wanted to use XP instead..good? I couldn't install XP from DOS and i figured that i cannot install like windows me e.g. from startup disk and dos mode. So now what? I saw 2 options..

First, upgrade..
    Second, clean install..but that won't remove windows me...

So I choosed upgrade..I have one operating system but what If I wanted to install windows XP as the only operating system on my computer without having to upgrade? (Clean Install).. and remember I don't want to have 2 operating systems on my PC too...

That may sound real newbie here but I don't know how to do it.
    Just for your note the XP version is Windows XP Pro v5.1 build 2600

Why wouldn't clean install remove Windows ME? That's exactly what it does unless I'm mistaken.

I really have no idea what the second part of your post is stating or asking.

you want to do Clean Installation. That will remove EVERYTHING. Make sure you do a backup of your data, it will then install XP fresh.

Clean install will not remove your old windows, it will keep all your progam files data and old windows directories, if you want a real clean install then backup your files and do an entire hard drive format, ofcourse make sure you have a bootable XP install CD, this is the best solution to startup with a clean system.

Otherwise you have to install XP with a new installation option, this will still be a clean install but your program files folder will keep the old windows programs, as for your old windows directory you can safely delete it once XP installation is done.
    RofyHost - Affordable Shared & Reseller Hosting Since 2003
    Proud Moroccan