Chatsworth, CA

The Legalities of running a business!!

Well as some of you already know from my first post's yesterday, I am an engineer and an attorney. I have been practicing law since 1997, however, I still do side engineering work. I am an engineer at heart, that's why I am here

Anyway, on the thread about putting an advertisement on the side of a truck, someone mentioned the fact that if you had an accident, it could cause you problems. Another mentioned that's what insurance is for. I figured I would do a short write up on the legalities of running a business, and then talk about the above hypothetical. This post is not to be construed as legal advice by you, and no attorney/client relationship is hereby being created by me to you with this post. This post is only my personal opinion, and for educational use only, and should therefore not be relied upon without you first consulting your own attorney. (had to get the pesky exculpatory language out) Also, I am only talking about California State and US Federal law. Also, this post is just a brief talk about business entities and does NOT go into great detail.

There are basically three types of business entities: (1) Sole Proprietor, (2) Partnership, and (3) Corporations.

(1) Sole Proprietor, a single person doing business. The vast majority of business in America are Sole Proprietor's. You are personally legally liable for the company.

(2) Partnership, two or more individuals conducting business together. Each partner is jointly and severally liable for the partnership business. (any partner can be held liable entirely or in part) In most States, if this relationship is not reduced to a writing, then something called the UPA, Uniform Partnership Act establishes the law relating to the formation, operation, and dissolution, as well as legal liability. It is very important to do your own written partnership agreement!!