godaddy hosting review

I'm a newb to being a webmaster, but I thought I'd share my experience with godaddy as a hosting provider.

I've read alot of bad reviews on their hosting, but I'm inclined to think those reviews must have been made before I hosted with them at the beginning of February 2005.

I haven't found any other host that provides some of the services they have for $3.95/mo. I haven't had any downtime altho it's only been a few months. My site generally only gets around 100 uniques per day and I'm only using about 1GB per month bandwidth.

However, I have outgrown the 1 mysql database they offer with their cheapest plan and also I'm not liking the fact that I only have 1 ftp account.

After doing alot of research, it looks like there is some better hosts out there altho I'll have to spend more than $3.95/mo which I knew I'd have to spend more than that anyway.

With site5, I can get multiple databases and ftp accounts, plus more disk space and bandwidth and alot better support from what I've seen for $6.95/mo in addition to $50 credit when switching because I still have about 9 months left on godaddy because I paid for the entire year.

So, for your basic website with 1 database, etc, godaddy should be fine, however I've outgrown their cheapest plan and am jumping the fence for greener pastures.
    Webmaster - Eye On Games

EU - east side
    Thank you very much for writing this review ripeog. One question if I may. How did you monitor your site's uptime?

Well, I didn't have any "real" way of monitoring the uptime, however I've been on the site pretty much daily since it's been live and alot of times I'm on it for the better part of the day.

I suppose it could have been down in the wee hours of the morning or at other times, so I wouldn't have known it or wasn't informed of it being down.

Editing my original review to say "I haven't had any downtime that I am aware of..."

Webmaster - Eye On Games