Results 1 to 26 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    41

    Home Server questions

    hi all i was thinking about using my charter cable for my own home server it is 3meg down and 30kbps up.
    I am running winXp pro.
    can someone help me to get it started on what I will need to do etc to get started?
    Thank You

  2. #2
    First contact your ISP and find out if you can host a server on your internet connection since a lot of them don't allow this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    13
    Ya, I ran my website for a few months on my website before they shut me down .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    500
    I'm not sure if 30kbps up is enough for a webserver, especially if it starts getting alot of traffic.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Merville BC
    Posts
    608
    I think one mb up would be better... maybe your isp offers that as an upgrade?
    Three out of four people make up 75 percent of the population

  6. #6
    This should squash your dreams about hosting your own server

    http://support2.charter.com/support/...1-80035f79208b

    FAQ: Can I host a server with this service?

    Unfortunately, hosting servers is not allowed with our residential cable modem service. This includes, but is not limited to, web servers, ftp servers, and mail servers.

  7. #7
    infact there are so many afordable hosting available.. guess setting up a server at home would be costly.. you need to manage it, monitor it 24X7.. take care of hardware problems than hacking attempts.. the list never ends..
    Wholesale Domain Prices for Retail Customers - Rushtoweb.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    76
    Since it's against your TOS to host servers... I'd suggest not doing so. They probably have port80 blocked anyway. You could host on a different port I suppose, but if your ISP finds out it could mean trouble for you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    I had a similar idea of having webserver at home.I was having pretty good connection. But when the traffic got increased the server got screwed up.haaa

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    40
    Setting up Home Server is good experience but, in the long run it is not practical.
    for starters, getting the cheapest webhosting package out there is the way to go.
    Prime Outsourcing | offshore solutions | manual labor | staff leasing |
    because American & European labor are expensive

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,561
    There was a thread earlier about this. ISP's generally do not allow the production of web servers to be hosted at your home ISP (as per most ISP's TOS), especially Comcast. Your better off just to buy hosting from a hosting company instead of getting shut down by your ISP.
    ColoInSeattle - From 1U to cage space colocation in Seattle
    ServerStadium - Affordable Dedicated Servers
    Come visit our 18k sq ft. facility in Seattle!
    Managed Private Cloud | Colocation | Disaster Recovery | Dedicated Servers

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    78
    You would probably save money by getting a VPS if you wanted to run your own server.
    Mark Stevens
    GHXhosting.com Ltd - Shared & Reseller Hosting
    (UK/US) Dedicated Servers & VPS
    Server-Help.co.uk Experienced Linux server admin for hire

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    569
    Originally posted by domainwala
    infact there are so many afordable hosting available.. guess setting up a server at home would be costly.. you need to manage it, monitor it 24X7.. take care of hardware problems than hacking attempts.. the list never ends..
    This truely doesnt matter for a user hosting a very small site. IIS is reliable enough for static content, and Windows machines can have great uptime when there is nothing really advanced on them. (I have a Windows server with over 100 days of uptime right now, although it is simple test machine for a project). Hardware firewall and a nice valid license of Windows to enable Automatic updates is enough to protect it. Hardware problems .. ahh not very often, but they still have to handle them either way, if they are planning to use the system in general.

    You dont need to monitor it 24 x 7 if you dont require 24 x 7 perfect uptime. Sounds like this user currently does. Not costly, or very time consuming, just takes some time to get it setup

    Brandon

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    569
    My post above doesnt mean that I think violating the TOS is right, I'm just pointing out home hosting is ok for a small family website, or just someone intersted in how things work. It can be very intersting to learn how to do things by your self

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,103
    Yeah, if you run a small web site that doesn't generate too much traffic they wouldn't mind cause they won't know about it.

    If your server is pulling in huge traffic, they'll terminate your service. I've ran servers to test stuff out on my computers at home, no problem what so ever because there are practically 0 traffic outside of myself.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    95
    Setting up home server for educational purposes is a good idea, but I won't advice you to use it for business purposes.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    334
    That upstream us pretty useless aside of for a very small site though. TOS aside (just for argument) a couple of simultaneous users would kill your upstream, which in turn would also affect your downstream. You are better off with an overall better solution.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    501
    Does anyone know what Charter charges for basic business cable and can you get it at home?

    I'm just learning now but one concern I have about using a hosting service is being able to do what I want to do the way I want to do it. Can I run my own C programs and scripts without restriction, ie, within my own space, of course? What can I NOT do that I can by having the box at home?

  19. #19
    Not matter what traffic the server pushes they can still find it.

    I used to run a server years ago when ATTBI was still around, and they found out about it when they did a port scan.
    Max Wilson

  20. #20
    Also, one other thing. What kind of server are you talking about here. Traffic is also detemined by what protocol is coming in and out of your server

  21. #21

    Beware

    They can turn off your connection to the internet ...don't take a chance many cheap hosting companies out there now

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    569
    Originally posted by WebDogPro
    Not matter what traffic the server pushes they can still find it.

    I used to run a server years ago when ATTBI was still around, and they found out about it when they did a port scan.
    Whatd they do with you? I had @home, ATTBI, and now Comcast.
    None ever really did anything to me about hosting a small amount of servers for testing purposes. I've had a webserver sitting on port 80 for YEARS with zero problem also

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    569

    Re: Beware

    Originally posted by my1click
    They can turn off your connection to the internet ...don't take a chance many cheap hosting companies out there now
    I doubt they would terminate your connection. I've never really seen that happen, as it has to be pretty serious. I've even seen a person get a letter for eatting up half a terabyte of data transfer (downstream) in a month, but that was only a threat of termination

  24. #24
    Originally posted by BrandonSCSN
    Whatd they do with you? I had @home, ATTBI, and now Comcast.
    None ever really did anything to me about hosting a small amount of servers for testing purposes. I've had a webserver sitting on port 80 for YEARS with zero problem also
    It was when it was @home i just frogot about it. They killed our connection for a few days. lol
    Max Wilson

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,103
    I was on @home too, which became @Rogers in Toronto and had servers for serveral years on Port 80. Even installed mYsql. No word from [email protected]

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,082
    When Shaw took over from Rogers in the west, I started getting harassed about my very low traffic web/dns/mail server. They cut off my connection on a Friday night twice, forcing me to call their abuse team on Monday morning to get the service reinstated (after promising to shut down the servers). I argued with them about the point of doing so, as it wasn't affecting their network, but got nowhere. The second time was a 1-week suspension, and I got fed up and cancelled and went with another provider. Telus is now blocking 25 and 80, so they're not a viable alternative, but there are other ISPs around that offer static IPs and don't complain about servers provided bandwidth usage is normal.

    In any case, you won't have any major problem from your provider. At worst you'll lose your connection for a couple days and be forced to shut down your serving endeavours. As others have said, the upstream bandwidth is quite small and won't handle a huge load, but 256kbit is more than enough for most home servers, as long as you don't have lots of large images and such. And it's a great learning experience, and gives you total control over what you want to run. I'd recommend it if you have a spare machine to dedicate to the purpose.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •