New York

the initial start

Hello, I am fairly new to this whole buisness. Since I started researching, I have found that alot of companies use low end hardware to run there buisnesses.
    My Example of Low End:
    Anything under Xeon or Opteron

I am in the process of making a design and have the necessary funds to start. Can anyone help me on making some decisions?

Should I go with a Dual Xeon/ Dual Opteron or a lower end processor?

Does webhosting rely on alot of ram?

Also, I know this isnt the right forum for this question but what the hell ,

How much do webhosting tech's make (average)?

Duluth MN
    I would actually classify Celeron as low end, P4/Athlon XP as midrange, and Xeon/Opteron as High-End.

We can't really tell you how to go, you need to decide that for yourself, as you should cover that in your business plan. (You have a business plan, right?)

If you have a business plan, that will answer your question, along with your questions on how much to charge, what your profit points will be, etc.

Personally, I refuse to use anything less than P4/AthlonXP, and any new servers I buy for co-location will be Xeon, Dual capable.

If you are looking for a high-end server to run your business, I would recommend you find a reseller account with the specs you are looking for. It is much more cost effective to use someone else's server with great hardware in the startup stage as compared to getting your own.

My suggestion would be start off with what you can afford and if you have to choose a slower cpu server at a better provider or a higher end cpu server at a crappy provider start out with the lower end model and upgrade as needed.

Obviously if money is not a problem start out with a nice dual xeon box but when starting out sometimes it is easier to get a nice $199 P4 or even less cost Celeron then it is to spend $399/mo on a blazing fast Dual Xeon - I know it was for me.

Atlanta, GA