Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201

    Setting up Nameservers

    Ok, I am about to buy a dedicated server but the only thing that I dont know how to do is set up the nameservers, so like this:
    ns1.mydomain.com
    ns2.mydomain.com
    I am going to be using Cpanel/WHM and I will have 8 dedicated ip's 5 usable (im just wondering where the other 3 will go? might on be for a secure connection and the other two for the name servers?)

    Is there a good tutorial out there or not?

    Thanks
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canakkale,Turkey
    Posts
    56
    You will have to create nameserver on your domain name. Most domain providers allow you to create nameserver online , you may e-mail them to create as well.

    Cpanel/WHM is easy to use , so you can easly change nameservers your own.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    Will I have to do this myself or must I email godaddy to do this?
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canakkale,Turkey
    Posts
    56
    Oh as i know they do not provide creating nameservers online , you will have to e-mail or call them. You can register on Ev1servers.net but their domain selling is currently offline. You can create nameservers on-line with ev1servers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    I might register at ev1servers then because it will be a lot simpiler.
    Thanks for the help. Do you know when they will allow registrations again?
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canakkale,Turkey
    Posts
    56
    I dont know, but you can go irc.ev1servers.net to ask them Good Luck!

    -Gokhan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    Ok Thanks for all of the help .
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canakkale,Turkey
    Posts
    56
    You're welcome

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    148
    Originally posted by Whocares
    Oh as i know they do not provide creating nameservers online , you will have to e-mail or call them.
    You can create the dns records for nameserver online with Godaddy. I have done it a few times without any problems. All you have to do is log into the your account and and click add host or something like that. It has been awhile since I have actually messed around with it so if you need help doing that, I can take a look later or someone else can help you I am sure.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    Ok so I will choose either Godaddy or ev1servers.net. Which one will be better for setting up nameservers?
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,762
    Godaddy is not bad, EV1 is not operational.

    I don't know why you're only considering them but do consider others as well... I think webnic.cc is not bad, Enom too.
    Aaron Ong
    Dedicated Servers - 100TB Servers - 100Mbps Unmetered Servers - Web Hosting - CDN Network
    Servers in Central, East/West Coast USA, EUROPE and ASIA
    Welltodo Century
    - www.welltodocentury.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    I only want to choose ones that are large and respectable and for me I trust godaddy and ev1servers because I know that they are big companies that are not too big.
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,762
    Oh goodness!!! When it comes to Domain Registration, no matter what happens to your host or something, ICANN would be able to help you out NO MATTER WHAT.

    Just FYI, no registrar has ever disappeared yet. Even if something were to really happen to your registrar, ICANN would definitely change your information appropriately so that it would be on another registrar which is still ongoing.
    Aaron Ong
    Dedicated Servers - 100TB Servers - 100Mbps Unmetered Servers - Web Hosting - CDN Network
    Servers in Central, East/West Coast USA, EUROPE and ASIA
    Welltodo Century
    - www.welltodocentury.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    Thats good to hear.
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    My Old Kentucky Home....
    Posts
    1,843
    If you do decide to go with GoDaddy and need some help setting up nameserver hostnames send me a PM and I'll walk you through it. It's not too difficult really.
    It's time to kick back, pop in a From Autumn to Ashes CD, and relax.....

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks, I will keep you inmind. I have now decided to go with godaddy because they seem quite good.
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    silicon and earthquakes
    Posts
    255

    Re: Setting up Nameservers

    Originally posted by Bakie
    I will have 8 dedicated ip's 5 usable (im just wondering where the other 3 will go?
    Suppose you get the IP range 1.2.3.0-7
    One IP goes for the network address (1.2.3.0)
    One IP goes for the broadcast address (1.2.3.7)
    One goes for the router on your subnet (probably 1.2.3.1)
    That leaves you with 5 usable IPs. Pretty standard setup.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    374

    Heres a little tut...

    Here is a little guide for setting up nameservers in cPanel:

    1. Make sure you have the following:
    Your providers DNS server
    Atleast 2 Additional IP's
    A registered TLD which allows nameserver/subdomain creation.

    2. Log-in to WHM as root.

    3. Look for "Modify Resolver Configuration". Click the continue button if prompted to do so

    4. Make sure atleast one of the IP's there is your provider's DNS server. If it isnt, check with your provider about getting the IP.

    5. Now go into edit setup and look for the directive named "Primary Nameserver" and . Go ahead and enter the first nameserver you wish to setup in that box.

    6. Next Click the Assign IP Address button to the left. A small Pop-Up window will appear telling you what the nameserver's IP has been assigned to. WRITE THIS DOWN!

    7. Next Click the "Add A entry for this nameserver" button. Another Pop-Up window will appear confirming the A Entry. Just click continue and the entry will be added.

    *Repeat Step 5-7 for the second nameserver*

    8. Go into your registrar's management center and register the nameservers you set up. Input the IP's that cpanel assigned for each. This proccess differs by registrar but its normally obvious where to do it.

    9. You will need to wait up to 24-48 hours for the A entry and the subdomain to propegate throughout the internet. To check on the status of your nameserver registration, go into DOS (Start -> Run -> cmd [enter]) and type in the command [ping {Your nameserver here}]. If it resolves to the IP you gave your registrar and the ping works, congratulations, you have successfully setup nameservers with cpanel!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks, That is everything that I need to know.
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    You'll still need to setup the nameservers in the DNS Zones?

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    374
    Originally posted by coconutboy
    You'll still need to setup the nameservers in the DNS Zones?
    Hm? cPanel creates the A Entry for you.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    1,349
    Yes, it is created right from the very beginning, but first make sure that you have enough IPs showing up and not assigned. Actually you can have both of your nameservers on your machine.
    :: :: :: :: :: ::
    :: VDSP.Net :: Directory of virtual and dedi serv providers by location and price

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •