How to advertise a new webhost

Hey everyone

I was just wondering some of the methods that people have implemented over the years to get their hosting company up and running. I have been advertising on a few web forums but it seems im yet to get any *real* hits.

So how do you do it? Like, where do you advertise and find people to be hosted by you?

Im a very deticated person to this (im a webmaster by nature) so i know what to do to search engine optimise it but that wont do me any good unless i have people searching for me!

So please try to help and tell me how YOU do it

Im not sure if im able to post my web-hosts url here, if I am can someone please inform me and ill do it so you can all see what it looks like

Thanks
    Chris

Chris,

I am not very sure if anyone will helpful for you. But I can inform you that you can place the offers of your companies under the advertisement forums here. You can mention all the details that you are offering with the plans.

This is what I can say for the moment. As far as the other old hosts here are concerned, you will have to wait for there suggestion upon this.

One good way not to do it, is to have someone acting as a shill for you, as you did in another username for computing-web-hosting.com

Originally posted by anon-e-mouse
    One good way not to do it, is to have someone acting as a shill for you, as you did in another username for computing-web-hosting.com
    I'm completely in awe of anon-e-mouse. She's like cyber Sherlock
    WHT is now used as the Universal Hosting Helpdesk.

Originally posted by anon-e-mouse
    LOL

I remain defiant that i wasn't in fact the owner of that host mind you

But that was ages ago Well i have absolubtly no idea how you know that considering ive swapped ISP's and have new emails etc. etc. (alot can change on the net) but anyway yeah lol