Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    333

    Swap usage...confusing

    If i good know server use much swap if I have much sites on server and when I don`t have much RAM and when I have high load on server but that is not case on my server, this is new server and I have only one site on that server, here is result from top:

    11:49:17 up 1 day, 2:05, 1 user, load average: 0.08, 0.09, 0.03
    89 processes: 87 sleeping, 2 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: cpu user nice system irq softirq iowait idle
    total 0.0% 0.0% 0.2% 0.2% 0.0% 0.0% 99.6%
    Mem: 1024388k av, 929196k used, 95192k free, 0k shrd, 255236k buff
    572380k actv, 124812k in_d, 15508k in_c
    Swap: 2104504k av, 22996k used, 2081508k free 388940k cached

    I think this is much swap usage for server with av. load 0.0x, what you think?

    On this server I have PIV 2.8GHz and 1GB ram...

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    333
    Nobody can`t help to me?

    Now I have few sites on this server and top:
    19:00:57 up 2 days, 9:17, 1 user, load average: 0.13, 0.20, 0.18
    122 processes: 120 sleeping, 2 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: cpu user nice system irq softirq iowait idle
    total 13.7% 0.0% 3.7% 0.0% 0.0% 4.5% 77.8%
    Mem: 1024388k av, 993224k used, 31164k free, 0k shrd, 165060k buff
    607148k actv, 239236k in_d, 19980k in_c
    Swap: 2104504k av, 58564k used, 2045940k free 570492k cached


    load average: 0.13, 0.20, 0.18

    and

    SWAP: 58564k

    This can`t be good...somebody know what can be problem?

    In this case on load 1 I`ll have SWAP: 500MB

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,790
    You need to read carefully: SWAP: 58564k
    is not 500MB swap... SWAP: 58564k ~= 58MB
    As long as your swap space used is below 200MB you should be fine i guess depending on your usage of your server... ...
    Giam Teck Choon
    :: Join choon.net Community today to share your tips and tricks on server issues please ::
    :: Singapore Dedicated Servers :: Singapore Virtual Private Servers :: Linux/FreeBSD Server Management ::

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    333
    No no...I know that I now use only ~58MB That 500MB, that is what I think that can be if I have load 1

    I hope that you can understand me...my englisg is not good

    I don`t know why I have SWAP 22996k (first post) on load 0.0x and on server who I don`t use (new server)...I think that can`t be good...or I don`t understand how it work ....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,033
    You do have 89 processes running that are most likely using the memory and swap. I don't see anything to be alarmed about...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,790
    oh sorry as i mistaken your post :p
    BTW, you should think of what type of applications you run during the swap space usage going up to 500MB... without much information from you we can't really suggest you anything... if you are running apache and/or mysql... then did you optmize them?
    Giam Teck Choon
    :: Join choon.net Community today to share your tips and tricks on server issues please ::
    :: Singapore Dedicated Servers :: Singapore Virtual Private Servers :: Linux/FreeBSD Server Management ::

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •