Thinking about getting a VPS, but I have a few questions

First off, I'm mainly a Windows web developer, doing most of my stuff in dotnet. That being said, I would like to be able to configure my applications as I want, but it seems so few hosts have very good admin that setting up one thing won't break another. So, I guess I am stuff with getting a VPS so I can do my own configuring. My questions are these: I don't have much admin experience, so is it pretty easy to administer a Windows VPS? Is remoting to the machine hard, and is setting it up (to remote) very hard? How about security, do I need to constantly be updating to make the system secure? I only have XP Pro at home and it's not too bad to keep up, but I'm sure I'll need to get 2003 Web Edition which I've never worked with before. Also, how is setting up domains with 2003? I know I probably sound like a noob but I'd rather ask these questions now then fork down the money and be SOL later.

>I don't have much admin experience, so is it pretty easy to administer a Windows VPS?
    Most VPS plans come with a web control panel, so setting up sites, email, etc. are done through the web control panel. Plesk is an example of a web control panel.

>Is remoting to the machine hard, and is setting it up (to remote) very hard?
    I don't use Windows but I assume you simply use SSH to login. I'm not sure but it might be possible to run GUI remote software. I don't know what it is called on Windows, but something like Timbuktu for Mac OS X.

>How about security, do I need to constantly be updating to make the system secure?
    I would say it depends on your host. Some will hand you the VPS in a pretty secured state, and continue to monitor things, while others will simply hand over the VPS to you. Regardless, you will still need to do some admin because a VPS is like having your own server.