Question Do you need 1gb RAM with Linux server?

for windows, 1gb is a must to me but since i'm a linux noob. is 1gb needed for a linux share host server?

how many of you did all in one linux server (ftp, apache, bind, mysql) with only 512mb of ram?

It really depends on your usage and needs. But you can host several low usage websites with 512MB decently.

Personally, I would always prefer 1GB so that there are always room to expand and to maintain performance.

Regards,
    Charles

1GB minimal.

2GB recommended.

4GB is the standard for medium - busy servers.
    I have servers at: NetDepot/GNAX (A), SoftLayer (A), LiquidWeb (B+), DedicatedNow (B+), Nectartech (B) and more!

Originally posted by universal2001

4GB is the standard for medium - busy servers.
    Since when?

I guess it all depends on how you quantify 'medium - busy'.

I had a 512 ram on a server which host 150 website ... everything seem fine for me on a AMD XP 2400 box

Originally posted by ipxchangenet
    I had a 512 ram on a server which host 150 website ... everything seem fine for me on a AMD XP 2400 box
    I would highly recommend upgrading your CPU and RAM on that, 150 websites is really pushing it for servers with those specs.
    Daily Updated Web Hosting News Blog
    Including an RSS feed that you can syndicate!
    Daily Updated Web Hosting News Blog
    Unlimited vs. Unmetered bandwidth

Originally posted by BillNathan
    I would highly recommend upgrading your CPU and RAM on that, 150 websites is really pushing it for servers with those specs.
    if it's low traffic and low I/O, DB website then it should be ok.

Also put it down to your greedy control panels. I notice i use just over 500mb on a cpanel box. Then sometimes we have people that overload services and it booms up to 700-800mb. Your box would die with 512mb. Heh.
    It's Scott!

Originally posted by BillNathan
    Not it's not. You can host quite a lot of sites with 512mb ram. Also, the XP2400 is fairly powerful cpu.