Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,352

    Question Do you need 1gb RAM with Linux server?

    for windows, 1gb is a must to me but since i'm a linux noob. is 1gb needed for a linux share host server?

    how many of you did all in one linux server (ftp, apache, bind, mysql) with only 512mb of ram?

  2. #2
    It really depends on your usage and needs. But you can host several low usage websites with 512MB decently.

    Personally, I would always prefer 1GB so that there are always room to expand and to maintain performance.

    Regards,
    Charles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,227
    1GB minimal.

    2GB recommended.

    4GB is the standard for medium - busy servers.
    I have servers at: NetDepot/GNAX (A), SoftLayer (A), LiquidWeb (B+), DedicatedNow (B+), Nectartech (B) and more!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    176
    Originally posted by universal2001

    4GB is the standard for medium - busy servers.
    Since when?

  5. #5
    I guess it all depends on how you quantify 'medium - busy'.

  6. #6
    I had a 512 ram on a server which host 150 website ... everything seem fine for me on a AMD XP 2400 box

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,128
    Originally posted by ipxchangenet
    I had a 512 ram on a server which host 150 website ... everything seem fine for me on a AMD XP 2400 box
    I would highly recommend upgrading your CPU and RAM on that, 150 websites is really pushing it for servers with those specs.
    Daily Updated Web Hosting News Blog
    Including an RSS feed that you can syndicate!
    Daily Updated Web Hosting News Blog
    Unlimited vs. Unmetered bandwidth

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,352
    Originally posted by BillNathan
    I would highly recommend upgrading your CPU and RAM on that, 150 websites is really pushing it for servers with those specs.
    if it's low traffic and low I/O, DB website then it should be ok.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,958
    Also put it down to your greedy control panels. I notice i use just over 500mb on a cpanel box. Then sometimes we have people that overload services and it booms up to 700-800mb. Your box would die with 512mb. Heh.
    It's Scott!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    589
    Originally posted by BillNathan
    I would highly recommend upgrading your CPU and RAM on that, 150 websites is really pushing it for servers with those specs.
    Not it's not. You can host quite a lot of sites with 512mb ram. Also, the XP2400 is fairly powerful cpu.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,290
    a few years ago i hosted about 200 sites on a duron 1.1 with 512mb ram just fine, there was a couple busy ones
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    774
    It all depends on usage.

    A while ago I was hosting 10 static websites off a i386 (8mhz) linux box with 8megs of ram...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    USA, Florida
    Posts
    13
    It's funny, I've hosted over 1,600 accounts with a celeron 2.4ghz nd 512mb of DDR ram. No problems at all, was also on a 10mbit shared connection. Oh, did I also mentioned it was hosted from the worst hosting providers ever (Managed.com)?

    90% of the websites did have quite some traffic and 3rd party php scripts (such as php-nuke, etc.)
    FIANetworks.com Great free professional webhosting!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,899
    Is 1GB ram really needed for sure? not really, would it be beneficial to have the extra headroom sure. It is all a matter of preference, to get it now or to get it later is pretty much the question. As many smaller sites on servers won't really need the extra ram. However as stated with more memory you use less swap space on the server thus you may see a performance gain with 1GB of course when you get under heavier traffic periods.

    -Justin
    Justin Schurawlow :: Technology Enthusiast
    Schurawlow PC Repair
    Computer Services for the Lehigh Valley area
    Blog :: The Justin Schurawlow Blog

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    522

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    60
    On most of my servers, what I like to do is start off with 512MB of RAM. I'll then look at 'top' or any other tool for measuring the RAM usage and see how much i'm actually using. Some places charge for more RAM so it may be worth your while to start with 512MB and move up to 1GB as needed.

    Let me know if this helps.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    513
    We run a 4Gb database on a server with 1Gb RAM. Tweaking MySQL a little, and allowing it 384Mb of RAM sped things up quite a bit, and now most pages load in under a second, with the complex ones taking say 2 - 3 seconds.

    The only time it grinds to a halt is when the update scripts run - which takes a while

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •