Results 1 to 35 of 35
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    48

    Looking for 2-3TB storage with 5000GB

    Most dedicated hosts like SM, EV1, dont' seem to offer very much in the way of large storage. Looking for a recommendation or a quote on the specs listed. Lemme know if you have any questions.

    2-3 TB storage
    5000GB bw/month
    100mbit burstable.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,084
    Does it have to be single server or can you split the content into multiple servers?

    Most providers will offer an external raid device that you can connect 2 servers to. Or you can just get it on one big box with Raid 5 array.
    André Allen | E: aallen(a)linovus.ca
    Linovus Holdings Inc
    Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers & Public Cloud | USA, Canada & UK - 24x7x365 Support

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    48
    Either would be fine i think. External SAN or even NAS would probably be fast enough for my needs. I'm surprised you say most hosts. I've never seen anything like suggested. Unless your talking a more expensive host, I've only experience with the cheap ones.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    547
    I think in regards to your specifications, it will be recommended to go for a quality host.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,163

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    Why do you need a server with that much storage and bandwidth?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    176
    What is your budget you are looking at?

    Are your sure you need that much storage? Your transfer usage isnt that derivitive of the high amount of storage you say you need.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    48
    Will be a streaming media server with several very large videos. I do need more space than bandwidth. 5000GB is a high number. I'd prefer to keep this all on 1 physical system but I'm open to suggestions.

    I can't say that I have a price range at this point, I'm mostly looking right now to find out what the cost would be and looking for competitive offers.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,084
    All valid questions but I am going to assume that the poster understands his needs.

    I say most DC's as frankly any of the larger ones will do the config you need if you ask them. Given your needs you really should go with a quality host. Think about how much you wish to spend and consider 2 servers linked to backend storage NAS/SAN (o my I just realized that both acronyms are a palindrome when you factor in general meaning ). I like that setup personally as you can do upgrades / modifications on the webserver/script side and not take the entire site down.
    André Allen | E: aallen(a)linovus.ca
    Linovus Holdings Inc
    Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers & Public Cloud | USA, Canada & UK - 24x7x365 Support

  10. #10
    As Sigmaservers said most DC's should be willing to do your configuration. However most of them will either want a large setup fee, or a contract to be signed. This way they do not spend several thousand dollars on a server for a client that bails out in 2 or 3 months.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    Would you consider co-locating your own hardware? Would save you in the long run.
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    48
    Unfortunatley co-locating would cost me too much to start. I want to leverage the buying power of a larger organization to get me started and pay over time. Perhaps down the road a custom colo setup would suit me better but not at this point.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    520
    $549 at leaseweb for 2TB disks and 8TB traffic

    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showth...hreadid=394891

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    48
    Thanks eric, I think it'd probably be in my best interest to keep it hosted here in the states, but that is quite an offer they have. Just too bad the US dollar is so weak against the Euro!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    48
    well been a few weeks, anyone have any new provider suggestions?

  16. #16
    This is not hard as long as you are willing to pay a huge setup or monthly fee. You don't see this on the website, because not many people need/purchase this configuration. Special order I guess.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,612
    theturtlecsz,

    It might be easier to point you in the direction if you can give us a little information on what you need to use it for, and how you came to the usage calculations.
    Scott Burns, President
    BQ Internet Corporation
    Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
    *** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    Or information on the processor and ram needed...
    James Lumby

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,040
    You're probably looking at something RAID 10 for that kind of storage requirement.

    RAID 10 is a pretty bad idea for large amounts of storage as it's only 50% space efficient. To have a 3Tb array, as mentioned above, you'd need 6Tb of raw storage. That's equal to 16x 400GB HDDs!

    To achieve the same amount of space with a RAID 5 array would require only 9 drives.
    Robin Balen
    Gyron Internet Ltd - http://gyron.net/
    UK colocation, managed hosting and connectivity services with 100% uptime SLAs

  20. #20
    As mentioned earlier, co-lo would work best for you. Or make some friends at DC's and get them to put your HDD's into a server you want from them. I have done this several times, I bought a server from a friend who works at a DC, and asked him if I could have my own RAM and HDD installed.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    48
    Hasn't anyone else had any experience in this sort of setup. I was looking for hopefully suggestions of a good provider. I know I can call any host and get whatever I want done. That really wasn't the point.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,974
    I think lease a server from Dell and colo it would be better.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    Well if you are just searching for a good provider any review of somebody that offers colo will do just check out the dedicated server section for tons of reviews.
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,084
    theturtlecsz

    I know it may seem that you aren't getting a straight answer but the problem is that it isn't that easy and many of the providers that can provide this service cannot respond directly saying "yes I can do that" as it is against the rules.

    I would try the following:

    Liquidweb
    EV1
    Theplanet
    alphared
    Burstnet
    bqinternet (may be able to do it they have large backup service packages).

    This won't be a stock item that many of us have up and running but isn't difficult to do for a lot of people just, it will cost you somewhat for the bandwith and a large box with enough drives.

    I doubt you will find many of us with boxes like that up and running though.
    André Allen | E: aallen(a)linovus.ca
    Linovus Holdings Inc
    Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers & Public Cloud | USA, Canada & UK - 24x7x365 Support

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    623

    Co-lo it

    Actually, I was looking for the same thing (large storage, smaller bandwidth) for one of my projects. Here is what I concluded.

    Nobody offers a "plan" like that. You might be a custom configuration for that, but it will be expensive.

    If you do co-lo, SuperMicro offers a 3U chassis with space for 15 SATA drives here . Add processor, RAM, 3ware SATA RAID cards, and 15 250GB HD's, the server probably cost $5000 to $6000 with moderate configuration. You can co-lo it for around $400 to $500/month at the cheap end of the market.

    It is possible to use several tower servers, but the total hardware cost will be about the same, and hosting will cost much more. So, for me, co-location of the 3U supermicro server will be the best option, but still too expensive for me the proceed.

  26. #26
    Why not e-mail a few hosts ezzi, sm, sagonet, others and ask if they can offer you that?

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    Originally posted by jenhance
    i have read the rules and im not promoting my self
    Sirius is right, and on top of that you're spamming up the thread with 3 posts that could have been done in one. I would be willing to bet you sent a piece of PM spam to the person as well. That is not the way WHT works.
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Miami FL
    Posts
    288
    Sagonet.com has Dell servers (Sago's Atlas Line) servers and NAS solutions..

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    75

    terabyte boxes

    To add on to riverpast's comments on building a terabyte box -- I just wanted to contribute my experiences, having built a handful of terabyte boxes
    Whatever case you choose, you can make it stay much cooler by choosing to go with a SATA solution over IDE due to smaller cables. By choosing IDE/SATA over SCSI you can get excellent storage capacity, and good transfer rates by choosing the right controller card and right RAID level.

    I have a 3ware 9500S-8 right now, and run Eight 250GB drives in a RAID-50 configuration. This allows me to lose two drives and keep on going. I'd recommend a RAID-5 or RAID-50 configuration. The 3ware cards are definitely the ones you'll want to go with -- not only do they have drivers for linux, freebsd, etc. -- but they actually support them, and know what they're doing. The hardware is spectacular, and worth every penny. Don't bother trying to save by going with any other brand -- you'll regret it in the long run -- I've tried many other hardware RAID cards, and 3ware is where its at.

    If you can recommend these things to a host, and see if they'll give you a quote -- the hardware end of it should be doable for far less than riverpast noted -

    I made my current box for < $2,000
    Its a P4 HT 3.0Ghz, 1GB RAM, 36GB 10KRPM WD Raptor OS Drive, the 3ware 9500S-8 and 8 250GB WD SATA Drives.
    ---
    May this post be indexed by spiders, and archived for all to see as my internet epitaph.
    MikeSchroll.com

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    882
    I agree, 3ware raid cards are a saving grace in the world of linux hardware raid controllers. There are others that can do the job, but at a huge cost premium.
    Neosurge Web Services since 2002
    Neosurge VPS Hosting

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,612
    As far as RAID cards go, we've had good luck with the LSI MegaRAID 300-8X card. It's slightly more expensive than the 3ware card, but not by much.
    Scott Burns, President
    BQ Internet Corporation
    Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
    *** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    70

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,954
    I think you're not getting a lot of response, because you haven't specified in more detail your budget, etc.

    By the sounds of it, budget is pretty tight on your side, because you dont want a large setup fee, and assumedly since it sounds like your operating budget is pretty tight, you want a low monthly fee. Since only the 'cheapie' providers will be able to fulfill the latter requirement of lots of cheap bandwidth, that presents a problem, as very few providers want to custom build a $5k+ box to bring in a customer who doesen't present the air of stability (eg. you dont want to have a low setup, and moderate/low monthly fee for a month to month customer with a setup cost that high).

    Notably most of the cheapie hosts have smaller profit margins overall, thus building boxes of that nature may be out of many of their spending ranges to acquire a new customer to say the least, which obviously presents the predicament that you're in.

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    623
    Another option

    Get a Dell PowerEdge 1800 (dual Xeon 3.0/2MB, 1GB RAM, CERC SATA RAID 6ch, 40GB HD for $999 right now). Add 6x400GB SATA drives (around $1500), configure it to RAID-5, and you will get a 5U server for under $3000.

    Co-lo it.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Posts
    747
    by the way, the $549 quoted for Leaseweb was not US Dollars, its in Euros, so the actual price in USD is much more.

    By a NAS off from Ebay. You can good deals there. But like everyone has said, you need to have a figure in mind and share that with others so they can let you know - yes (possible) or no (not possible).

    Eitherway, good luck.




    Faisal
    "I drink too much. The last time I gave a urine sample it had an olive in it. ".
    Rodney Dangerfield (from "I Get No Respect!").

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •