New Zealand

What is needed to setup BGP?

Hi, i am new to BGP and the hardcore networking scene.

What is needed to setup BGP?

What are the requirements of BGP on a router?

I have a Dell powerconnect 6024 switch and i am interested in the routing protocols it is compatible with:

# 24 10/100/1000Base-T ports and 8 fiber (combo) SFP slots in a rack-dense 1U form factor
    # Copper and fiber ports for flexible connectivity options
    # Standards-based switching features including advanced Quality of Service, multicasting, link aggregation, dynamic VLANs, and Rapid Spanning Tree Protocol
    # Comprehensive set of industry-standard routing protocols including RIP/RIP2, OSPF v1/v2, VRRP, IGMP, and DVMRP
    # Robust security capabilities including flow-based ACLs, port-based MAC security, RADIUS remote authentication, SSL/SSH encryption, and IP-based management access filtering
    # High availability features such as integrated dual hot-swappable power supplies and cooling fans
    # Integrated Cable Tester for diagnosing copper connectivity and detecting problems within one meter of fault
    # Management via industry-standard CLI, easy-to-use Web GUI, Dell OpenManage Network Manager, and third-party SNMP-based management applications
    # Enhanced configuration management with configuration file upload and download capabilities, and dual firmware images for r

I would like to know how to use the routing protocols it can use, and what i can do with the routing compatibilities it has.

For example can i route certain bandwidth lines to a certain route?

FREE Shared, Mega Resellers + Dedicated Servers

Here you go:

A good place for a networking newbie is "Networking Information".

Here you will find case studies..overviews..everything you'll need to know.

Last edited by bryonhost1; 04-15-2005 at 08:06 AM.

PA, USA