VPSfor Begginers/Novices

Ok lets for once put aside all the assumptions that a host has of a person looking to get into a VPS plan. I am a Novice to hosting period, unfortunately i may have out grown shared hosting and this is the next viable step. With that said, i would like to start a productive thread that would assist people like me on how to approach VPS hosting without getting hung out to dry, due to lack of knowledge.

Ok so lets say that what we as a VPS customer are looking for is something in the range of:

100 gigs bandwidth
    10 gigs disk space
    Cpanel X Control panel
    Linux/unix server

With that being the base requirements:

What would i expect to ask of potential hosts?
    What support should i expect?
    What price range would i be looking at?
    What software would i need to bring to the table?
    What things do you as a host assume that the customer already knows?
    What computer knowledge would i need?
    What kind of hardware should i expect?
    What are the differences in bursts?
    What companies would be best?

Now i have been poking around the forums and reading the offers and reviews on some of the hosts. But i just dont feel that i would know whether i am getting a good deal or not one way or the other. I appreciate everyones assistance ahead of time, and if this has been brought up before i apologize im not trying to repost old info.

Menttal,

What would i expect to ask of potential hosts?

You should ask them what type of support they're willing to provide - some hosts are willing to go out of their way to support novices. Others will provide support as long as the novice is willing to also search, hunt on their own but still needs guidance. Others won't touch the VPS with a 10 foot pole.

What support should i expect?