Running a Dedicated Server?

I want to know how to start, I'm new to dedicated servers. All I know for now is the prices and the quality of the products from are good so we're choosing them, plus they are at Savvis Datacneter and we find it a great network. I also think we will get CentOS, upgrade to 100mbits port and buy the 3 security enchancement plan. Plus they are fully managed servers so that would help us a lot. What more should I learn or know? Any comments or suggestions?
    Last edited by LucasGE; 04-14-2005 at 07:30 AM.

You would need to secure your server, and it looks like you have plans on doing that. If you can't manage a server your self I would hire an admin. You should also get some help from as I believe they are a managed provider. Good luck with getting everything up and running.

Yes, we got plans on the security plus they are fully managed so they even told me with themselves it's enough to run everything correctly and without problems.

I was just looking at resellerworkz website to get a better definition of what they mean by managed and this troubles me.

The types of things that are not included in the Diamond Managed Services are:

- Can you copy my accounts from my old provider to my new server?
    - Can you install MRTG and a firewall for me?
    Apparently, a firewall is essential in the security aspects of your server.

However, the good thing is that for extra money, they can install a firewall for you.

That's what I was saying.

Atlanta, GA
    Since running my hosting company there are a few things to make sure of.

Keeping the server up to date and secure

Monitor intrusions and report attacks accordingly

Make sure you have an admin that nkows the filesystem and can manage Installation and configuration of libraries, apps etc.

Make it easy for your customers to contact you. Forums, ticketing system, 800 number live helpdesk.

Make sure you have a plan to manage your backups