how do you find out how your server is compromised

My servers been hacked, I'm putting a spare up but I'm at a loss as to see where it's been compromised.

I'd had a couple of email warnings about it portscanning and high server loads.

Are there any good how-to's or tutorials to help track down the problem, I don't want to put a new server up and for the same thing to happen.

Thanks, Rob.
    Rob Johnston | LucidUK.com | [email protected]
    Who is Rob? boobear.co.uk
    MSN: [email protected] | AIM: rob at lucid

Depends on what system but regardless of this you should disconnect the server from the network ASAP. If you keep the server online you risk having other (trusted) servers being hacked or damaged too, and besides it helps doing forensics on a hacked server when it's offline.

For Windows you can try software like Spyware Doctor (sp?) or Avast which can detect most virus, trojans etc. But I'm no windows expert so there might be better ways...

For Linux/Unix, try something like chkrootkit or rkhunter. Don't trust commands such as "ps" or "top" because a hacked server could have fake replacements. The easiest is to boot from a cd such as Knoppix and then scan your hardrive from there.

I recommend you rebuild the server from scratch (as in re-format and reinstall OS etc) and then prepare it with some IDS tools and set up a nice firewall or two before putting it online again. IDS=intrusion detection tools. You can google for all these things.

Make sure you keep your server up-to-date with the latest security patches..this is an ongoing thing so don't just leave your serverrunning without updating it.

Good luck

High server loads might just be a busy server. The portscanning does not sound good but are you sure it was coming from your server and not directed at it?