hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting Talk Tutorials : Programming Tutorials : Using vb.net on the web

Forum Jump

Using vb.net on the web

Reply Post New Thread In Programming Tutorials Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2005, 02:15 AM

Using vb.net on the web

Is it possible to use Vb.net to make things for the web like forms and applications?

Basically, what is it capable of online?

I'm a second year programming student and all we do is make small programs and I was wondering what some of the other capabilties are.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-11-2005, 01:46 PM
Junior Guru Wannabe

ASP.NET is programmed using either VB.NET or C# , so yes it is possible to port vb.net programs to the net, or program web applications with vb.net

I suggest you pick up an ASP.NET programming book, preferably one by Jesse Liberty (Oreilly's Programing ASp.NET )

Old 04-18-2005, 08:26 PM
Junior Guru Wannabe

you basically have to develop a web application, if you are using .net you can use any of the .net languages (C#, J#, VB.net, managed C++.net)

There are a number of classes that allow you to build web applications in the System.web namespace.

System.Web.UI.ServerControls and System.Web.UI.HtmlControls have all the classes to build web forms (basically dynamic page with the extension aspx and a code behind file written in any .net language).

System.Data contains all the ADO.net classes used to connect to a datasource (such as a database or XML).

I would strongly recommend to get Visual Studio is you are going to get into this.

you can check gotdotnet.com as a source for training material.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-19-2005, 09:50 AM
Web Hosting Master

www.asp.net is a good resource to start

Old 05-20-2005, 12:27 PM

You can do this on Linux/*NIX using the mono project, http://mono-project.com