hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Need comment on Dell PowerEdge SC1420 server
Reply

Forum Jump

Need comment on Dell PowerEdge SC1420 server

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,349
Question

Need comment on Dell PowerEdge SC1420 server


they have PowerEdge SC1420 server for only $499 with free shipping.

i like the spec. Intel Xeon 2.8ghz, 512mb DDR2, 80gb SATA. is this a fair price for it? how's Dell's server? i like to buy it to dual boot Win2003 and CentOS.

does Dell server have any problem with CentOS?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 480
Wow, nice price. Does anyone know how many of those can you fit into a 42U cabinet?

  #3  
Old
& Goliath
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chattanooga
Posts: 8,899
Where do they have that price? :b

__________________
David
Fused

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 4,243
Can't find that price anywhere, did you get a special offer?

__________________
Steve

  #5  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,532
Go under small business. It's the promotion on the front page. It's only a single Xeon, though.

We have quite a few of them and they are high quality. You can't go wrong.

__________________
[QuickPacket™] [AS46261]
Located in Atlanta, GA and Las Vegas, NV
Dedicated Servers, Xen & OpenVZ VPS, Co-location, R1Soft Data Backup, Shared and Reseller Hosting

  #6  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 4,243
Oh right, I got it confused with the SC1425 which you won't find for $499!

__________________
Steve

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,349
Quote:
Originally posted by Vortex-Steve
Oh right, I got it confused with the SC1425 which you won't find for $499!
http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...1420sapp&s=bsd

the price is not bad even for a single Xeon. it can also make a beefy game machine if it come with AGP or PCIe port.

does anyone know if it come with AGP or PCIe port?

  #8  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,349
Quote:
Originally posted by QuickPacket
Go under small business. It's the promotion on the front page. It's only a single Xeon, though.

We have quite a few of them and they are high quality. You can't go wrong.
do you know who's memory chip they use and if it come with AGP or PCIe port? where can i score another 512mb DDR2 to bump the total ram up to 1gb? their price to bump up the ram is a bit expensive.

  #9  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,296
It's only an extra $100 to go to 1GB of ram, which is very very resonable for an additional 512MB of DDR2 Reg ECC, in fact it's below cost.

__________________
Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
Offering Dedicated Server and Colocation Hosting from our SSAE 16 SOC 2, Type 2 Certified Data Center.
Current specials here. Check them out.

  #10  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 136
Its $100 due to the double ram promotion, adding another 1GB for 2GB total is +$600. It would be way cheaper to add the 2nd GIG from Crucial.

But that is one hella deal. $988 for Dual Xeon 2.8 1GB 80GB SATA

I might get one for my desktop if its PCIe capable.

  #11  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 634
I got one of these around Christmas to use at home. Overall it's a nice box at a very good price, but there are a few idiosyncracies. I don't really need a high end graphics board, but it's obvious Dell did some things to this machine to cripple it for gaming/workstation usage. It's not hard to see why if you go price a similarly configured high end Dimension or Precision workstation--this machine offers more power for less money.

There is no AGP slot, and the PCI-Express slot is oddly configured. Basically the main PCI-E slot is a 16x length slot with pins for a 8x, and it has a plastic divider in the middle so only 8x boards fit. What this means is that you can't use any PCI-E graphics board (which are all 16x length) without modding the slot and removing the divider. You can find forum discussions on this topic if you search Google. Apparently the newer SC1420 machines have two plastic dividers, making it even more difficult to mod. So unless you mod the PCI-Express slot, you're stuck using an outdated PCI video card. I don't play games or do any heavy graphics/AV work, so that works out fine for me.

  #12  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,349
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay Suds
It's only an extra $100 to go to 1GB of ram, which is very very resonable for an additional 512MB of DDR2 Reg ECC, in fact it's below cost.
are we looking at the same configure? it stated $300

  #13  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,349
Quote:
Originally posted by lockbull
I got one of these around Christmas to use at home. Overall it's a nice box at a very good price, but there are a few idiosyncracies. I don't really need a high end graphics board, but it's obvious Dell did some things to this machine to cripple it for gaming/workstation usage. It's not hard to see why if you go price a similarly configured high end Dimension or Precision workstation--this machine offers more power for less money.

There is no AGP slot, and the PCI-Express slot is oddly configured. Basically the main PCI-E slot is a 16x length slot with pins for a 8x, and it has a plastic divider in the middle so only 8x boards fit. What this means is that you can't use any PCI-E graphics board (which are all 16x length) without modding the slot and removing the divider. You can find forum discussions on this topic if you search Google. Apparently the newer SC1420 machines have two plastic dividers, making it even more difficult to mod. So unless you mod the PCI-Express slot, you're stuck using an outdated PCI video card. I don't play games or do any heavy graphics/AV work, so that works out fine for me.
kool. thank for the info. is it possible for you to attach a pic of the motherboard? i want to know the layout of motherboard.

  #14  
Old
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 480
I never brought a Dell server before. Are you allow to add aditionall CPU, ram and hdd yourself. They addon is rather expensive.

  #15  
Old
Owner of the net for a day
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 4,956
The Dell 1420 is a nice unit, technically you can add the items yourself.

CPU can be purchased from online souces for $100-$150 less than dell charges for an additional, but teh heatsink on the dell isa different size. You might be able to just change the retention brackets and move on.

RAM is DDRII (not the ddr 2, not standard DDR) Registered ECC, and the motherboard requires that. And the Dell hard drives currently are Seagate Cheetah 7200 RPM SATA's, not bad at all, but for the prices they charge you can get a WD Raptor or 16MB cache Maxtor drive.
The board has a SATA softRAID Adaptec CERC 2s chip built in, it works fine with windows, but not linux (you can use linux soft raid), you can also purchase a true RAID card from Dell.

I am uploading a gallery of photos with comments in the photos, it will be up shortly.

__________________
Jodohost Operations Manager Twitter status feed: https://twitter.com/jodohostcom
Now offering Plesk Hosting on Windows or Linux.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Dell Rumored to be a Possible Buyer for IBM’s x86 Server Division Web Hosting News 2014-01-20 12:27:12
Codero Hosting Launches On-Demand Storage Services Web Hosting News 2013-04-30 14:58:12
Codero Hosting Adds Dell PowerEdge Servers Web Hosting News 2013-04-03 15:48:11
Object Storage Provider Scality Joins Dell Technology Partner Program Web Hosting News 2013-01-09 11:45:16
Web Host Milesweb Launches Dedicated Server Hosting in India Web Hosting News 2012-12-31 10:53:51


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?