hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : How can I tell whether my hard drive is SATA/UATA without opening up the tower?
Reply

Forum Jump

How can I tell whether my hard drive is SATA/UATA without opening up the tower?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2005, 10:14 AM
Acsiak - Andrew Acsiak - Andrew is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,567

How can I tell whether my hard drive is SATA/UATA without opening up the tower?


Ok, here it goes...

Some may remember this story.

Basically I bought a brand new computer in December, which apparently had a SATA hard drive, however Windows stated it was Ultra ATA. I then phoned Carrefour, the shop I purchased the computer at, and they said that it is a SATA hard drive however Windows does not recognise it for some reason and I should not worry - So I didn't worry, and it seemed from the topic linked about that I'd only need to worry if I ever needed to add a second hard drive, and I never thought that I'd need to... except now I plan to add another hard drive (Western Digital 120GB). Now where does this lead me?

Here someone posted a link to a 250GB hard drive they bought which is... low and behold, Ultra ATA which is exactly what Windows say my hard drive is.

The only information Windows will give me is: WDC WD2500JD-00HBB0
I searched the Western Digital website for WD2500JD which gave me this.

So, really I've two questions:
Is my hard drive a SATA hard drive?
And if you cannot tell from the information I've given, does anyone know how to find out without opening up the tower?

Thanks.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-2005, 10:19 AM
Vortex-Steve Vortex-Steve is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 4,243
Opening up a PC case is one of the simplest things you will ever do. Would it not of saved you over a months worth of wondering to just open it up and take a look? Plus you said you were going to add another hard disk, would you not have to open it up then anyway?

__________________
Steve

  #3  
Old 02-11-2005, 11:17 AM
Sheps Sheps is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Shadows
Posts: 2,901
If linux reports it as "SCSI" then let me garentee you right now that it is SATA.

You can check the cable inside the computer. It is generally a rounded cable, from what I remember, and unless you have one of those tricked out computers(Off Topic, people who do that are morons) then a rounded cable generally means it is SATA.

On a side note. This is referring to the other topic. While you do lose some space in a format, it isn't going to be 20 Gigs. What happens is when they label the drives, they use the "metric" system, which you all know is "1000" for Kilo, "1000000" for Mega, and so on... The actual drive is reported in the operating system using the standard system. Which is "1024" for Kilo, "1048576" for Mega, and "1073741824" for Giga

Which, suprise, suprise, gives you: 232.83064365386962890625 when you do the conversions... Isn't math fun!

__________________
Dan Sheppard ~ Freelance whatever

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 02-11-2005, 11:20 AM
Sheps Sheps is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Shadows
Posts: 2,901
Oh, and the link you posted. Difference product numbers(slightly). Plus, Best Buy wouldn't know SATA from SCSI, much less ATA or Ultra-ATA.

__________________
Dan Sheppard ~ Freelance whatever

  #5  
Old 02-11-2005, 12:04 PM
Teh_Winnar Teh_Winnar is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 729
checking the cable is the easiest way.

IDE - 40-80 wires

SATA - 7 wires

just look at the size of the connector. about 1/3 to a 1/4 smaller then an IDE

__________________
Who is General Fault, and why is he reading my disk?

  #6  
Old 02-11-2005, 03:00 PM
Pheaton Pheaton is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Georgetown, Ontario
Posts: 1,761
Quote:
Originally posted by Sheps
You can check the cable inside the computer. It is generally a rounded cable, from what I remember, and unless you have one of those tricked out computers(Off Topic, people who do that are morons) then a rounded cable generally means it is SATA.
Actually, a SATA cable is flat. Neither ATA or SATA cables are round. There are ATA cables that you can buy that are round, but they are only round because the individual ribbons are cut up instead of being stacked in a row.

__________________
Repeat after me... ProSupport is the best... Prosupport is...
ProSupport Host Support System - OUT NOW! Grab a copy yourself and see what the hype is about!
VertiHost Inc. - We run a quality business. Do you?


  #7  
Old 02-11-2005, 04:26 PM
Sheps Sheps is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Shadows
Posts: 2,901
Heh... Well, still. If linux reports it as SCSI, and it is a ATA drive, it is SATA. No ifs, ands, or buts about it.

__________________
Dan Sheppard ~ Freelance whatever

  #8  
Old 02-11-2005, 07:59 PM
Hosemeyer Hosemeyer is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,444
Quote:
Originally posted by Sheps
You can check the cable inside the computer. It is generally a rounded cable, from what I remember, and unless you have one of those tricked out computers(Off Topic, people who do that are morons) then a rounded cable generally means it is SATA.
There are other reasons for round uata cables other than to "trick your computer out"

Such as.... more effective cooling in small cases... IE: More air flow.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
FastHosts Internet Launches Two SSD Dedicated DS1210 Servers Web Hosting News 2013-03-20 13:39:45
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – March 1, 2013 Web Hosting News 2013-03-01 16:47:30
Hostway Launches Cloud Drive and Cloud Backup Web Hosting News 2013-02-12 11:44:54
Web Host Hivelocity Offers Free SSD with Purchase of New Server Web Hosting News 2012-10-12 13:03:58
Web Host GeekStorage Launches VPS Line Featuring SSD Storage Web Hosting News 2012-10-04 12:19:46


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?