hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : server management via serial console
Reply

Forum Jump

server management via serial console

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71

server management via serial console


My servers have a serial console port.

How can this be used to access them remotely in case the server is offline through the normal ethernet port?

What extra hardware do I need and how do I need to configure freebsd 4.10 to do this?

Is it true that I can use this port to access my server remotly as if I was actually in the data center?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 86
You redirect your console to the serial port. Your machine probably supports BIOS redirect as well. Depending how the setup is done, you would ssh to a box on a port or via a ssl webpage, etc. If you are running a non-graphical OS such as *nix, it is the very same console that you see on the monitor, just redirected.

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
thanks, its an isp1100, yes it does support bios redirect.

my question is what is the hardware I have to plug into this serial port and how do I re-configure freebsd to go through it so I can ssh into my server in case its not reachable via the normal way like when its down (like right now.)

this would save me from having to go to the datacenter...

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London UK
Posts: 327
Ordinarily you need a serial console server, but for a single machine you may be able to find a single port ethernet<->serial device of some description.

If the BIOS redirection is intelligent enough it may work all the way through to the FreeBSD login prompt although usually you'll find it only copes with the BIOS and that's it.

On FreeBSD, simply echo '-P' > /boot.config and then change /etc/ttys so that ttyd0 is 'on' and change std.9600 to 3wire.9600, that's pretty much all you need.

__________________
Paul Civati
Rack Sense Ltd UK Managed Services Provider
Views expressed are my own and not those of the company.

  #5  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
so you are saying that it only gets me the bios not the actual screen after bios is up? yes/no?

what about if I use this product?

http://www.lantronix.com/data-center...00-scs400.html

Lantroix SCS100/SCS200/SCS400
Console Management Solutions

  #6  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London UK
Posts: 327
so you are saying that it only gets me the bios not the actual screen after bios is up? yes/no?

Using the BIOS redirection on its own.. no.
Using with the FreeBSD instructions above.. yes.

what about if I use this product?

Should do the job.

__________________
Paul Civati
Rack Sense Ltd UK Managed Services Provider
Views expressed are my own and not those of the company.

  #7  
Old
Backup Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,504
If your motherboard supports console redirection, it should give you access through the console up until the FreeBSD boot loader. At that point, your boot loader and your kernel will need to be configured to use the serial console.

If you have multiple servers, you may not need any special console server. We prefer to hook up pairs of servers (server1 COM1 to server2 COM2, server2 COM1 to server1 COM2), then SSH in and use the cu utility to access the console.

__________________
Scott Burns, President
BQ Internet Corporation
Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
*** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

  #8  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
so your saying you use a second server as the console server since its not likely that both will go down at the same time?

  #9  
Old
Backup Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,504
Quote:
Originally posted by superman_1972
so your saying you use a second server as the console server since its not likely that both will go down at the same time?
Yes. Assuming your servers have 2 serial ports each, it's quite economical.

__________________
Scott Burns, President
BQ Internet Corporation
Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
*** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

  #10  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
can you link me to the cu utility info?

  #11  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71

  #12  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally posted by superman_1972
thanks, its an isp1100, yes it does support bios redirect.

my question is what is the hardware I have to plug into this serial port and how do I re-configure freebsd to go through it so I can ssh into my server in case its not reachable via the normal way like when its down (like right now.)

this would save me from having to go to the datacenter...
I would tend to disagree with the daisy-chain approach to serial console control unless you just have a few servers and don't plan on scaling much. If you don't, ignore my advice and use the second serial port (which isn't available on a lot of server cases) or purchase a multi-serial RJ45-based card like SIIG and other vendors make and put it in a PCI slot.

If you really want serial console support get a nicer multi-port terminal server that supports higher densities and reverse telnet like a Livingston PM25 (End-of-Life but <$200 for 24 ports), Cisco 2511 ($250 for 16 ports off eBay), or if you want support a Digi or Cyclades console server. The Lantronix look a bit retarded to me.

  #13  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
does is PM25 support SSH? or is reverse telnet pretty secure?

can you show me some info on these like white papers, docs?

  #14  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
http://portmasters.com/www.livingston.com/

answeriing my own questions here

above is what I found for docs on the pm25

  #15  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 175
I got a sealed PM-25 off ebay for about $50. Picked up the cables from portmasters.com but I haven't gotten around to setting it up yet. It seems like it will work nicely. I plan to SSH into a local box and then telnet to the PM-25 to keep things secure.

__________________
Fork Networking - 1995-2010+
Colocation & Dedicated Hosting
West Coast, 99.999% uptime.
<www.forked.net>

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Telstra Cloud Console Suffers Two-Day Outage Web Hosting News 2014-01-13 10:28:55
Google Cloud Platform Introduces Billing Export Feature Web Hosting News 2013-12-27 14:24:30
Zetta.net Launches Multi-Tenant MSP Management Console Web Hosting News 2013-04-26 13:53:48
Solar VPS Becomes Official Mirror for Centos and Ubuntu Web Hosting News 2013-04-16 11:03:34
Solar VPS Brings SolarSystem VPS Management Suite to Dallas Web Hosting News 2013-03-06 14:33:30


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?