Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    How to set up sub domain to point to a different server transparently?

    Hi:
    I'm using WHM/ cPanel. Being a DNS newbie, just wondering, how would I go about setting up a sub domain to point to a different server transparently, so it isn't simply a redirection? For example, I need:

    sub.mydomain.com

    to be served from a different server than the one "mydomain.com" itself is on, but without redirection (so the URL remains sub.mydomain.com) when it's typed and loads.

    Thanks much,
      0 Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,276
      0 Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Sorry for the newbie questions, but what's the basic way to doing the above then without cPanel/ WHM? With my registrar (namecheap), I can register nameservers for a domain itself, but not subdomain I can't imagine...
      0 Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,276
      0 Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    739
    Yeah, with cPanel is very easy and intuitive.
      0 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia (Crikey)
    Posts
    2,271
    add a CNAME or an A (mental blank, cant remember which) entry for the subdomain and put in the corresponding IP?
      0 Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Originally posted by Bub Host
    add a CNAME or an A (mental blank, cant remember which) entry for the subdomain and put in the corresponding IP?
    Thanks Bub Host, that seems more right. I was looking via Google, and that seems to be roughly what I need to do. If anything can be more specific, I'm sure that would help as well. Still trying to get my head wrapped around all this.
      0 Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    75

    hy

    In whm use this
    Edit a DNS Zone klik on mydomain.com
    and at the end add this

    sub.mydomain.com. 14400 IN A Ip_another_server

    that is all
      0 Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Cool that worked! One question though- what if the target server hosting sub.mydomain.com isn't IP but named based, so the IP is shared by many accounts? How would I get the target server to correctly delegate sub.mydomain.com to its own account?

    Thanks
      0 Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Quad Cities, Iowa
    Posts
    1,597
    It won't matter if the IP is shared or not. Here's why:

    User types in: sub.yourdomain.com
    Server1 answers and says -> goto server 2's IP

    As long as the sub-domain is added to Server 2's DNS, then everything will work properly.
      0 Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Originally posted by AuthorityHost

    As long as the sub-domain is added to Server 2's DNS, then everything will work properly.
    I assume you mean I should then simply create an account on the target server's WHM with the name "sub.mydomain.com"?

    Thanks,
      0 Not allowed!

  12. #12
    yes, that'll work.
      0 Not allowed!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •