hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : Paypal scam alive again
Reply

Web Hosting Lounge Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss topics not related to the above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Paypal scam alive again

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2004, 02:44 PM
colorteck colorteck is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,957

Paypal scam alive again


Man I will tell you! How many people do you think fall for this?

http://67.15.113.108/process/paypal/update/



Dear Paypal valued member,

Due to concerns, for the safety and integrity of the paypal
account we have issued this warning message.

It has come to our attention that your account information needs
to be updated due to inactive members, frauds and spoof reports.
If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and renew
your records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.
However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension
This notification expires on 48 hours.

Once you have updated your account records your paypal account
service will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.

Please follow the link below and login to your account
and renew your account information
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run

Sincerely,
Paypal customer department!

Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the footer of any page.

To receive email notifications in plain text instead of HTML, update your preferences here.


If you get an email like this one do not enter your logins

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-29-2004, 04:01 PM
akashik akashik is offline
ex-Aussie
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Tacoma, Washington
Posts: 9,576
Yep, got that one too. Sent it through SpamCop. The IP address belongs to EV1, so it's up to them to shut off that account.

__________________
Former Webhost... now, just a guy.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2004, 04:18 PM
Corey Bryant Corey Bryant is offline
Texan at Heart
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Castle Pines, CO
Posts: 7,189
I get them all the time. even from some banks I have never even heard of

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 12-29-2004, 04:22 PM
porcupine porcupine is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,554
All it takes is one in a million generally speaking for it to be worthwhile to the scam artists. I'm sure for every few million people hit with this, theres at least a few morons who fall for it.

__________________
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc. - Affordable Colocation & Dedicated Servers.
admin@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2004, 04:23 PM
Martinez Martinez is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 395
Instead of saying Dear Paypal valued member or what have you, I believe all legitimate Paypal emails will actually say Dear *your name here*,

Not sure if this is a fail safe quicky for reference or not but worth mentioning as it's the first thing that tips me off to this type of scamming activity.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2004, 04:35 PM
DecentHost DecentHost is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: US
Posts: 597
Yes I got one too

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2004, 04:44 PM
porcupine porcupine is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,554
*sniff* PayPal doesen't value me as a member I guess

__________________
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc. - Affordable Colocation & Dedicated Servers.
admin@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2004, 05:13 PM
WireNine WireNine is offline
The Geek is coming
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,103
I use to get a lot of those, but not anymore.

__________________
■█► WireNine.com 8+ years in business!
■█► Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting and VPS Hosting 24/7 Support 99.9% Uptime 60 Day Money Back Guarantee
■█► cPanel, Litespeed, CloudFlare, Softaculous, Attracta SEO, Site Builder
■█► Find us on Facebook and follow us @wirenine

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2004, 05:49 PM
2003m2003 2003m2003 is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally posted by Martinez
Instead of saying Dear Paypal valued member or what have you, I believe all legitimate Paypal emails will actually say Dear *your name here*,
Yes, you are correct, I noticed that all personal email come with name, other than just news/information.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:32 PM
Rice Rice is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 15
Yea i get that stuff also...

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:40 PM
HostingFroggy HostingFroggy is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 20
I've gotten many saying "You've sent a payment to Phonebuyer", yet I haven't. It always says I sent about $200+ each time too.

They go straight to my delete box.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:07 PM
security security is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 79
But the link actually goes to the PayPal website, so what's the problem? i.e. https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run

__________________
If it's free, I'll take it.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:10 PM
Omnisage Omnisage is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 64
the email is a webpage, the address shown is not where you are taken if you click

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:22 PM
Captian_Spike Captian_Spike is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 881
Ya, I've gotten varios emails like that before. Including one where "john" sent me $1286.00

They put an exact replica of paypals website in the email, you can then use the login box right from there. What people don't realize is when you click submit it posts the data to the scamers server. A good scammer would have thier script record the data, then repost to paypal, the user doesn't even know they went somewhere other then paypal. (well, until there credit card gets maxed and the bank account is cleared out.)

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:39 PM
Bodeba Bodeba is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally posted by porcupine
All it takes is one in a million generally speaking for it to be worthwhile to the scam artists. I'm sure for every few million people hit with this, theres at least a few morons who fall for it.
LMAO theres no need to call them morons, they dont know as much as you or I but they are far from morons. I class the people who operate the scams morons, not the people who fall for them.

They say ignorance is bliss, i say that saying needs to be upgraded.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
PayPal UK IPN Issues Impact Web Hosts, Users Web Hosting News 2013-02-01 09:34:43
CIRA Warns .CA Registrants of Fake Domain Renewal Email Phishing Scam Web Hosting News 2012-08-10 11:02:44
Yahoo! Names Former PayPal President its New CEO Web Hosting News 2012-01-05 19:17:16
Netcraft Research Finds EV SSL Certificate Used in PayPal Phishing Attack Web Hosting News 2011-12-30 21:08:38
FBI Arrests 14 People Connected to Anonymous PayPal Hacks Web Hosting News 2011-07-20 14:06:16


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?