hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Upgrade FC1
Reply

Forum Jump

Upgrade FC1

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,478

Upgrade FC1


Since FC1 has reached legacy status lately, I've been wanting to upgrade directly to FC3. So, my question is:

If I download and install the redhat-release RPM for FC3, update the up2date profile and have up2date download and install updates, would it essentially upgrade me to FC3?

Or are there unforeseen problems I've missed?

Thanks!

__________________
WHT HelpDesk



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California USA
Posts: 13,197
I never done a fc1 to fc3 migration, BUt i am always a fan of going though the os versions to ensure nothing is left behind. fc1 -> fc2 -> fc3

__________________
Steven Ciaburri | Proactive Linux Server Management - Rack911.com
System Administration Extraordinaire | Follow us on twitter:@Rack911Labs
Managed Servers (AS62710), Server Management, and Security Auditing.
www.HostingSecList.com - Security notices for the hosting community.

  #3  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,478
Thanks Steve.. but do you think I can do this? If there are some smaller issues I can resolve them, I just don't want it to turn into one huge mess.

__________________
WHT HelpDesk

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 63
Don't know if you use a CP or not. I use cpanel and I followed [iG]'s Guide here .

Haven't made the jump to FC3 yet. Actually I'm debating even staying with Fedora. Not that I've had any real issues, but sheesh the lifetime is short!

Here's another guide I've been eyeing for when the time comes
http://www.brandonhutchinson.com/Upg..._with_yum.html

The only hangups I personally had were with the existing redhat-config rpms causing dependency issues during 'yum upgrade'. Basically I just removed the problem rpms and let yum reinstall them later on if they were called for.

I also agree about moving step-by-step. Yes definitely.

Good luck let us know how it goes

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Canadian Web Hosting Improves SSD Caching for Shared Hosting Servers Web Hosting News 2013-09-04 13:47:24
LeaseWeb Doubles Resources of Cloud, Virtual Server Plans Web Hosting News 2013-06-04 11:20:42
WHMCS Releases Version 5.2 of Web Hosting Billing Solution Web Hosting News 2013-04-14 22:35:37
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – March 8, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:16
Liferay Portal Users Offered Cloud Hosting Choice with Standing Cloud Web Hosting News 2013-01-15 09:00:54


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?