
12-03-2004, 02:16 PM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 160
|
|
I just got a call from these guys.
The guy flat out told me that it is impossible for my site to ever go down. He said california would have to sink for it to go down.
He then proceeded to tell me that APlus owns all the domain name registrars (after I asked him how he got my number)
He then told me that they host, market, and designed Best Buy's webpage.
I proceeded to look up the nameservers, hmm, it resolves to AT&T. I ask him about that and he says--oh no, they get their internet service from AT&T, not their hosting. Then I said, oh really? How would I go about making my domain name point to your servers? He said I'm just a designer, I'll get a tech for you.
He got the tech. The tech then told me that I would have to update my nameservers if I wanted to host with them  .
I then asked about Best Buy--he said he had to check on it--then he would call me back. Right...
********.
__________________
Blue Optic .:. Web Solutions
http://www.blueoptic.com
|

12-03-2004, 05:48 PM
|
|
Disabled
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 11
|
|
I had a dedicated server with Aplus.net before, and then filed a chargeback when I realized that the sales person completely lied about my server specs.
|

12-03-2004, 07:52 PM
|
|
Retired Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: EU - east side
Posts: 21,920
|
|
Funny story CobaltConn! Very funny! 
|

12-04-2004, 02:35 AM
|
|
Junior Guru
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 199
|
|
hehehe
hehehehe  )) very very interesting 
__________________
WebHostec.com
http://www.webhostec.com
e-mail: info@webhostec.com
|

12-04-2004, 03:16 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 881
|
|
Lol, thats a good one. I've heard of a few scams where people use whois record contacts to dupe people into something absurd like that.  You would think people would try and come up with something slightly realistic.
|

12-04-2004, 06:36 AM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 163
|
|
I had a lady call me up from there too a few weeks ago after I registered a few domains at GD.
They were offering me hosting, told them I was a reseller.
They offered me web design after 3 minutes of her talking without me being able to get a word in, I told her to email me the info....never saw the email, but then again I would have hit the delete button on it anyway.
I tell you they have some nerve. 
|

12-04-2004, 06:45 AM
|
|
Aspiring Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 362
|
|
I guess Aplus are up to there old tricks again then..
They did this before, aswell as secretly embedding code into there customers webpages...
|

12-04-2004, 10:15 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 2,168
|
|
Aplus does a lot of bad things that I don't approve of. A while ago they lied to all customers and put links back to aplus.net on all of their customer's web sites. (The links were invisible). This caused them to get a PR of 9 and #1 ranking on google for a lot of terms. It is a large but extremely shady operation if you ask me. They should go down like Foonet.
EDIT: I also don't know whether the employees are told to lie or whether or not the information they receive are lies from their managers and then they believe it because it's what they're told. Who knows, but it really should stop.
|

12-04-2004, 10:32 AM
|
|
Aspiring Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 362
|
|
Yes it should stop I agree strongly with that.
It's like they are attempting anything to get that extra bit of recognition.
But if they had good support, great servers and services they shouldn't need to do this sort of thing to get new customers.
|

12-04-2004, 07:44 PM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 164
|
|
Too funny! We also received a call from them  They should have gone to our webpage *before* calling 
__________________
BP6.Network - Quality Hosting Services
- Shared Packages, Reseller Packages, Dedicated Servers, Co-lo & More.
- Specializing in Streaming Media and other large-capacity needs.
- BP6.Net
|

12-04-2004, 08:09 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,282
|
|
We should register StopAplus.com at GD and then wait for a call from them to host us. 
__________________
Hosting Discussion - web hosting community for grown-ups.
Is your company represented?
|

12-04-2004, 09:24 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: FT Worth, TX
Posts: 5,098
|
|
I reported aplus.net to ICANN a few months ago and the reply I got from them is they will be investigating the matter and forwarded it to they're legal department. They certainly do not own all registars and I believe they are either browsing through deleteddomains.com or they are abusing they're privillege by having access to the whois through they're sister company ABACUS AMERICA, INC. DBA NAMES4EVER it would be wise for people to report this to ICANN simply by emailing them at icann@icann.org with a brief statement of the incident.
__________________
Kerry Jones
|

12-04-2004, 09:55 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 782
|
|
BTw, if you put yourself on the national DO NOT CALL list, and they call tot elemarket you, you cna sue aplus.net for violation of the new do not call act ;p
|

12-05-2004, 02:18 AM
|
|
Junior Guru
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wilbur ,washington
Posts: 217
|
|
man o man, ive been reading on this and cant beleive the scams with the domain names now, and the adding the links inside customers pages is downright crazy but the balls to do this is even more, they said it was ex employee that did it, hmm, what incentive by boosting there google rank would he have?
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|