hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Server Matrix Bad or Standard Practice?
Reply

Forum Jump

Server Matrix Bad or Standard Practice?

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2004, 11:33 AM
MarcRubeus MarcRubeus is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 75

Server Matrix Bad or Standard Practice?


I ordered 8 IP addresses from server matrix.It took them about a week to give me these IP addresses and then when they finally did, one of them was a .255 address. Is this standard practice? In my view, I should not have to pay for an unusable IP address. In their view, they can just keep closing my tickets and that is fine with them. So, is assigning a .255 address standard practice?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-27-2004, 01:02 PM
JTY JTY is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 5,991
What is your subnet mask? Depending on the subnetting, .255 could be a perfectly usable address.

  #3  
Old 11-27-2004, 02:32 PM
mp3LM mp3LM is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 134
No it couldn't. It's the last possible number....no matter how the class is divided. 255 is ALWAYS a broadcast. In any case, you should have 1 broadcast(last) and one network(first ip). It's standard, and can be used to your advantage. How? Well...if you need to broadcast soemthing...use the last one, if you need to connect two networks, use the first one.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 11-27-2004, 02:33 PM
aht aht is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 167
You probally have 2 unusable IPs. All subnets have the broadcast and network...correct me if I am wrong...its been a few months since Cisco class.

We set them up like this.
network .1
broadcast .255

__________________
Dustin

  #5  
Old 11-27-2004, 02:38 PM
porcupine porcupine is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,706
Remember, a subnet can consists of more then a single /24 (eg. a /23) which would result in two "class c's" in the subnet. That being said, in the example of 60.10.0.0/23 you would see the following usable IP's (depending on the dividing of course, whether it's running VRRP/HSRP, etc.):

60.10.0.0 - Network
60.10.0.1 - Gateway
60.10.0.2 - 60.10.1.254 - usable IP's
60.10.1.255 - Broadcast

Real question is, whats your subnet mask? That'll help you determine. While a /23 is definatly less elegant, and you'll be seeing a lot more network broadcasts, it does simplify management, and helps avoid the "oh, well that subnet is out of IP space, if you need more IP's, we'll have to move your server to a new block, can you'll have to start renumbering immediatly" stories that I'd imagine everyone dreads.

__________________
Myles Loosley-Millman
Priority Colo Inc. - Affordable Colocation & Dedicated Servers.
admin@prioritycolo.com
http://www.prioritycolo.com

  #6  
Old 11-27-2004, 02:46 PM
secureserver secureserver is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally posted by mp3LM
No it couldn't. It's the last possible number....no matter how the class is divided. 255 is ALWAYS a broadcast. In any case, you should have 1 broadcast(last) and one network(first ip). It's standard, and can be used to your advantage. How? Well...if you need to broadcast soemthing...use the last one, if you need to connect two networks, use the first one.
No it's not. It's depends on subnet mask - only if it's /24 (or more) you are correct.

  #7  
Old 11-27-2004, 08:59 PM
dkitchen dkitchen is offline
Managed Hosting Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 4,163
An IP ending in .255 is not necessarily unusable, it really depends on what subnet you are in.

If you're above a /24 there is a possibility that it is usable.

Do an ifconfig from a shell prompt to find our your current subnet, that should apply to your new IP's too.

Dan

__________________
█ Dan Kitchen | Technical Director | Razorblue
█ ddi: (+44) (0)1748 900 680 | e: dkitchen@razorblue.com
█ UK Intensive Managed Hosting, Clusters and Colocation.
█ HP Servers, Cisco/Juniper Powered BGP Network (AS15692).


  #8  
Old 11-27-2004, 09:24 PM
jt2377 jt2377 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,349
SM give me all IP address on the same day when they finish setup. remeber when they said 8 ip. it usually only 5 ip is useable just like Layeredtech said 8 but they have a mark and say 5ip is useable.

  #9  
Old 11-27-2004, 09:42 PM
MPuzO MPuzO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 30
Yeah with SM, Layered Tech and Tomsyer, you get 5 useable always

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - May 23, 2014 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 17:06:57
Inerol Solutions Launches XEN VPS Hosting Service Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:46:53
SSHD Rootkit in the Wild Blog 2013-02-22 16:44:08
451 Research Names Head of Services Research And Advisory Team Web Hosting News 2012-11-06 13:05:41
SNIA's Cloud Data Management Interface Gains International Standard Designation Web Hosting News 2012-10-22 12:05:52


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?