
11-12-2004, 11:40 PM
|
|
I am a newbie :D
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Internet
Posts: 1,712
|
|
Dathorn.net - Whats this
I was just surfing the net and in curosity I was looking at some hosting companies whois info. I was looking at dathorn.com and I bumped across whois of dathorn.net:
http://whois.sc/dathorn.net
Look at the image for dathorn.net:
http://img.nameintel.com/Thumbnails/...in=dathorn.net
Is this something I have discoverd new or something, biggies over here are aware of.
I am a bit surprised and shocked to see this.
|

11-12-2004, 11:42 PM
|
|
Junior Guru
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 200
|
|
It is a bit odd. I can't explain why another company's screenshot would be on the dathorn.net whois.
__________________
|

11-12-2004, 11:58 PM
|
|
Predatory Poster
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 5,550
|
|
That's like asking why http://www.dathorn.net/ shows Unit Hosting's website.
__________________
Patron: I'd like my free lunch please.
Cafe Manager: Free lunch? Did you read the fine print stating it was an April Fool's joke.
Patron: I read the same way I listen, I ignore the parts I don't agree with. I'm suing you for false advertising.
Cafe Owner: Is our lawyer still working pro bono?
|

11-13-2004, 12:12 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lakeport CA, Clear Lake
Posts: 1,856
|
|
I assume from looking up both in who is that dathorn.net and dathorn.com have no connection with each other?
__________________
Everyone is entitled to MY opinion.
CatfishEd.com
|

11-13-2004, 12:33 AM
|
|
Retired Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: EU - east side
Posts: 21,920
|
|
It seems so catfished...
www.dathorn.net -> ***********
www.dathorn.com -> dathorn
Interesting...
|

11-13-2004, 12:40 AM
|
|
Retired Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,000
|
|
Just another case of domain name hijack. That's why I would always get the .com and .net if it's an important site.
|

11-13-2004, 12:43 AM
|
|
I am a newbie :D
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Internet
Posts: 1,712
|
|
www.dathorn.net -> ***********
So they are banned on WHT, that shows that this unit * company is involved in something fishy.
|

11-13-2004, 12:45 AM
|
|
Retired Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,000
|
|
No. Actually it just means they break the forum rules. But trying to hijack a domain name in its other guises does go down in my book as being low-down.
|

11-13-2004, 12:47 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Georgetown, Ontario
Posts: 1,761
|
|
Unit hosting has no ties with Dathorn. Andrew reported that that company registered the domain before he could and refused to hand it over.
__________________
·· Repeat after me... ProSupport is the best... Prosupport is... ··
ProSupport Host Support System - OUT NOW! Grab a copy yourself and see what the hype is about!
VertiHost Inc. - We run a quality business. Do you?
|

11-13-2004, 12:50 AM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 170
|
|
Hijacking, no. The domains were registered independently of each other:
Registrant:
*********** Tech
5643 Wellesley St.
Los Angeles, CA 90189
US
Registrar: DOTSTER
Domain Name: DATHORN.NET
Created on: 12-OCT-03
Expires on: 12-OCT-05
Last Updated on: 22-SEP-04
Administrative Contact:
H, Kevin DATHORN.NETyaYxkD@privacypost.com
5643 Wellesley St.
Los Angeles, CA 90189
US
987613454
Technical Contact:
P, Mike DATHORN.NETyaYxkD@privacypost.com
5643 Wellesley St.
Los Angeles, CA 90189
US
987613454
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Domain Name: dathorn.com
Name Servers
ns14.zoneedit.com
209.126.137.108
ns19.zoneedit.com
69.10.134.196
Domain Created: 05/31/2001
Domain Expires: 05/31/2005
Registrant
Dathorn Internet Services
2429 Hickory Manor Drive
Wildwood, MO 63011
United States
email: andrew@dathorn.com
phone: 9182696112
fax:
Administrative
Dathorn Internet Services
2429 Hickory Manor Drive
Wildwood, MO 63011
United States
email: andrew@dathorn.com
phone: 9182696112
fax:
Technical
Dathorn Internet Services
2429 Hickory Manor Drive
Wildwood, MO 63011
United States
email: andrew@dathorn.com
phone: 9182696112
fax:
Billing
Dathorn Internet Services
2429 Hickory Manor Drive
Wildwood, MO 63011
United States
email: andrew@dathorn.com
phone: 9182696112
fax:
|

11-13-2004, 01:52 AM
|
|
Retired Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,000
|
|
Well passing off, hijacking whatever.
|

11-13-2004, 02:26 AM
|
|
Retired Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: EU - east side
Posts: 21,920
|
|
What he said. ^^
The reason for getting that domain and using it is obvious and it's demeaning. (or at least that's what I think about it)
|

11-13-2004, 02:42 AM
|
|
Community Guide
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Tasmania, Australia.
Posts: 3,587
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by sprintserve
Well passing off, hijacking whatever.
|
Indeed, there are some nasty littly creatures that frequent these parts.
Gary
|

11-13-2004, 03:04 AM
|
|
Older than the Internet
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 23,860
|
|
Oh well, a hard lesson for Andrew to learn in not securing the .net when he was building his dathorn.com. That's very basic stuff, and it's amazing how the most basic things tend to get forgotten, when building your hosting business.
It's not that bad though, as the .net traffic will most likely spill up to the .com, so any brand they try to build around the .net, could end up helping the .com. Also direct type_in traffic for either domain, will most likely end up at the .com, and not the .net.
Just don't ever dream of branding the .net, with the .com out there available. n00b mistake #17.
A couple of mths back I had the opportunity to sit down (cost me a bundle) with an internet branding expert, and it's amazing what folks forget or neglect in regards to their domain. I think we chatted away for 4 hours about all things net, with tea and biscuit interruptions. Was worth every penny. 
__________________
AussieHost.com Aussie Bob, host since 2001
Host Multiple Domains on Fast Australian Servers!!
|

11-13-2004, 03:14 AM
|
|
Community Guide
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Tasmania, Australia.
Posts: 3,587
|
|
He didn't teach you everything Bob.
I'll let you in on a little secret so that you can stop changing what appears at aussiehost.com every day (I notice you have changed it yet again in the last hour - why not point it back to httpme?). It is, in my opinion, a low down dirty trick that (surprisingly) I never thought you would stoop to. But I'm over it. I was over it when someone reminded me that no matter what name you try to pass off as, you'll never be an "Aussie".
So you can play your games, and I hope that it cost you a fortune to buy the domain name and receive subsequent advice about its use. There is only one Aussie Hosts, and you'll never come close.
Gary
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|