Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 71
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,176

    Gameserver Hosting

    I would like input from people who've actually hosted gameservers before.

    In your honest opinion, can a dual xeon 2.4 (533 mhz fsb and 512k cache) with 1 GIG ECC Ram handle approx. the following

    about 80-90 slots with 30-60% utilization on average.

    (Counterstrike only)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,715
    Search. The answer comes up pretty quick.
    Game Servers are the next hot market!
    Slim margins, heavy support, fickle customers, and moronic suppliers!
    Start your own today!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,176
    Not an exact answer, I am just comparing experience. I am not a novice at this and looking for help. Just wondering what the common opinion was for this exact scenario

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    390
    We have a few dual 2.8 Xeons which would certainly handle that number of slots. It would begin to get stressed if all were active at once, but at 30%-60% usage you should be fine.

    It also depends on things like mods, maps etc. A full server running amx on aztec may be a different story
    Kris - nitrohosting.net
    Premium Dell Windows/Linux dedicated servers in London
    Great value shared hosting & ADSL.
    PM/Email for no-obligation quotes.

  5. #5
    i would say you should be able to do it. but i would definately get atleast another 512mb of ram. cuz mods/map downloads/etc can cause problems when you arent expecting it.
    Fibre Optic Game Hosting - Quality game, voice and web hosting at low prices.
    www.foghosting.com

  6. #6
    I would bring it all the way to 2GB of ram if your looking to max the machine out to 60-70% and leave the rest for spiking.

  7. #7
    Not sure if this helps but my p.c ( p4 3.4 1 gig ram 1.5 mb connection and my hubbys pc amd 64 3.4 1 gig ram and nvidia 6800 can handle serving 14 people for unreal tournament for our clan when our server goes down..we had quite a few maps and mods on there too..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,176
    Is CS really that memory intensive?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,138
    Originally posted by The Broadband Man
    Is CS really that memory intensive?
    Vanilla setups and "normal" play are not overly memory intensive. It depends on if you allow customers to run resource hungry mods and the resource spikes during map changes you need to think about.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,176
    But in your experience, private scrim/match servers vanilla setups w/ no mods - is 1 gig ram enough? I was told by a friend that choke/loss can be a result of a lack of memory but i think that is more of an issue with the network and rate settings

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,138
    Originally posted by The Broadband Man
    But in your experience, private scrim/match servers vanilla setups w/ no mods - is 1 gig ram enough? I was told by a friend that choke/loss can be a result of a lack of memory but i think that is more of an issue with the network and rate settings
    Yes, 1 gig of RAM has been suficient for private scrim/match servers vanilla setups w/ no mods.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL.
    Posts
    216
    I allways did for gameservers 1 processor doesnt need more then 1 gig. and I would go with 1.5 or so in a xeon. Try 1 gig and see how it runs if your memory starts to run out order some more ram.
    Curt Royer - Amadi Systems
    curt@amadisystems.com - http://amadisystems.com

    Rackmount Solutions | Storage Arrays | Networking & Accessories

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    119
    Well, you MIGHT be able to run 80-90 slots at that usage. This would be running a lower quality server, though, using a low HZ (100-200) amount and sys_ticrate (100-200) amount.

    Running a higher hz (512-1024) and sys_ticrate (300+) will use significantly higher resources and won't get you anywhere near that mark.

    It all depends on the quality you want to run them at.

    ---

    On a side note, it seems you have disabled receiving PMs. I tried to send you an e-mail. Is there an alternate form of contact I can reach you at?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL.
    Posts
    216
    Make sure that you dont just run the shots filling up the resources to 80% with the servers empty, You allways have to take into consideration they could be full all at once.
    Curt Royer - Amadi Systems
    curt@amadisystems.com - http://amadisystems.com

    Rackmount Solutions | Storage Arrays | Networking & Accessories

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    119
    Curt, he didn't make this exactly clear, but I believe he is asking about utilization with all 80-90 slots in use. If the thread starter could please verify...

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •