hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : fraud suspection? help guys
Reply

Dedicated Server Current and past experiences with dedicated server providers, bandwidth, and server performance. Review managed and unmanaged dedicated web servers, discuss both Windows and Unix dedicated server solutions, and discuss dedicated hosting providers. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

fraud suspection? help guys

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2004, 07:12 PM
cDedicated.com cDedicated.com is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 350

fraud suspection? help guys


well i suspect for this person to be fraud ,
> Account Information
> Organization: interxeo
> First Name: xxxxx
> Last Name: shxxx
> Email: xeorils@xxxxx
> Phone: 0168xxxxx (for protection)
> Address: alamat aku xxxx
> City: bandar
> State: daerah
> Zip code: 880xxx
> Country: malaysia
> Language: english

he is customer of mine for few months for dedicated server ,but no one answer his email for months+ ,also his server pretty unused ,only few things done in first days.

Also zip code is also suspect....
phone # ,malaysia code is not 016 as i know...

well guys what do you think?

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-08-2004, 07:15 PM
dkitchen dkitchen is offline
Managed Hosting Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 4,163
If he has been a customer for a few months now, you should know if he's paying or not surely?!

Dan

__________________
█ Dan Kitchen | Technical Director | Razorblue
█ ddi: (+44) (0)1748 900 680 | e: dkitchen@razorblue.com
█ UK Intensive Managed Hosting, Clusters and Colocation.
█ HP Servers, Cisco/Juniper Powered BGP Network (AS15692).


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2004, 07:16 PM
cDedicated.com cDedicated.com is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 350
well ,he pay with stormpay ,stormpay told me ,he possibly safe customer ,but from my checking ,he is not,because of facts i told you.

he is also not verified account at stormpay .

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 11-08-2004, 07:24 PM
dkitchen dkitchen is offline
Managed Hosting Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 4,163
Well if he's been with you for more than a month, if this is a fraud case you'd know by now if payment hadn't gone through.

Just because he lives in malaysia doesn't mean hes a fraudster.

Infact if your customer see's this post he most likely wont be your customer for much longer, there are ways to go about investigating possible fraudsters, posting their details on a public forum isn't one of them.

Have you even heard of the data protection act?

Dan

__________________
█ Dan Kitchen | Technical Director | Razorblue
█ ddi: (+44) (0)1748 900 680 | e: dkitchen@razorblue.com
█ UK Intensive Managed Hosting, Clusters and Colocation.
█ HP Servers, Cisco/Juniper Powered BGP Network (AS15692).



Last edited by dkitchen; 11-08-2004 at 07:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2004, 11:28 PM
HiVelocity HiVelocity is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 2,302
Not sure what prompted you to question this customer, but if the bills are being paid, and your not getting any complaints about him, then I would think it is a legitimate paying customer.

If the payments stop coming then obviously its time to cut him off.

Good Luck

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2004, 11:50 PM
dotSecurity dotSecurity is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 161
The phone number listed there is a malaysian mobile if i recall correctly. Try giving them a call, it won't cost too much.

Also check the order IP, and the IPs in email headers to check they all come from Malaysia.

__________________
Security Talk

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2004, 12:10 AM
CurtWRoyer CurtWRoyer is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 215
I would assume it isn't. If someone was using my credit card and when I noticed it I would cancel the card asap. Once that happens the bank should contact stormpay and let them know to close the account.. I used to be in the shell buisness and accepted yahoo paydirect, stormpay, paypal, and another that starts with a k which I can't thinks of and we were a fraud target it seemed like. It was mosty within a week when they detected it. and the longest case lasted about a month or so..

__________________
Curt Royer - Amadi Systems
curt@amadisystems.com - http://amadisystems.com

Rackmount Solutions | Storage Arrays | Networking & Accessories

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2004, 12:24 AM
dsappana dsappana is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 85
Being from Malaysia, 016 is a number, but a cellphone prefix.

"alamat aku"? That is not an address, but "your address" in Bahasa Malaysia. Don't quote me on that, as I went to an English medium school and did not learn BM (and have been out of the country for quite some time).

"bandar" is not a city.

"daerah" is not a state I have ever heard of, unless it is in East Malaysia.

"880xxx"? Area codes are usually 5 digits, unless I am unaware that it has changed in the last 3 years.

Hope this helps.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2004, 12:47 AM
swijaya0101 swijaya0101 is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: singapore
Posts: 455
alamat aku = my address

bandar = city

daerah = state/province

IMHO, if a customer can't even provide their personal information right, there must be something more into it.

__________________
current and satisfied customer of softlayer.com and webnx.com

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-09-2004, 12:59 AM
cDedicated.com cDedicated.com is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 350
we always checking each order for fraud ,but this one looks fine from payment side/stormpay.

But for some reason ,the server unused since ordered ,no emails from him ,the domain name ,when you access it ,its empty,no site.nothing. well ,i really dont like suspect my customers for fraud ,but this one ,lighting to me.... i really hope to find out that its not fraud customer,i emailed him today again. i will not shutdown his server untill i am sure.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-09-2004, 06:27 AM
Georgecooldude Georgecooldude is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 883
OK,

So he has payed each month?
If so, how is that a crime?


Also not using a server is also not a crime.



Is it an automatice billing in place?

Perhaps he is dead? Sometimes people die and theres no way of finding out as their next of kin wouldnt think to contact everyone on the internet.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Fake Web Hosting Invoices Issued in BC, Canada Fraud Case Web Hosting News 2012-11-15 10:00:39
New Zealand Scammer to be Sentenced for Selling Web Hosting Business Three Times Web Hosting News 2012-09-04 17:01:20
UK, US Federal Authorities Seize 36 Domains Connected to Financial Fraud Web Hosting News 2012-04-27 10:28:20
Security Solutions Firm ThreatMetrix Acquires Aussie Rival TrustDefender Web Hosting News 2012-01-11 12:18:27
Former Rackspace Employee Gets Probation and Fine for Wire Fraud Web Hosting News 2011-08-25 20:31:06


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?