rDNS troubles, advice/expertise needed

i know as much about rDNS and PTR records as i do about rocket science...so uh, i'm pretty confused.

i'm a freelance web designer, and i was recently hired by ismta.org (illinois state music teachers association). they were in desperate need of a new host and a new web site, so i referred them to instaspace.com for hosting. the hosting plan was simple, cheap, and plenty good enough for what they needed (shared hosting). or so i thought.

-edit-
    was going to post a link to ismta.org's dns report, but apparently i need to make 5 posts first. ::grumble::
    -edit-

we can't send emails to aol.com addresses no matter what. i've tried everything i know. i contacted the aol postmaster folks via phone and they confirmed that ismta's ip address (12.168.33.12)was blacklisted. they said they could whitelist us if we could get our reverse dns entries sorted out. well...i have no freakin idea how to do that

i don't even know who to bring this problem to. i've contacted instaspace about it several times and they don't seem to know anything about it. said they'd email me when they could resolve the problem, but that was almost 2 months ago. i sent them an IM about it earlier and i didn't even get a response. i thought i'd go over their heads and see who their host was, and those folks had no idea what i was talking about either. told me to talk to instaspace.

the thing is...i have 3 other domains hosted elsewhere that do not have proper rdns records, and i can send emails to aol members just fine.

-edit-
    was going to post a link to gravitysquared.com's dns report, but apparently i need to make 5 posts first. ::grumble::
    -edit-

same rdns error as ismta.org, but without the email problems.

this stuff is totally out of my area of expertise! i also noticed that ismta.org's ip address is blacklisted with SPEWS, but my gravity squared ip is not.