hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Managing a Cisco 2900 Switch?
Reply

Forum Jump

Managing a Cisco 2900 Switch?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2004, 05:02 PM
apexio apexio is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 175

Managing a Cisco 2900 Switch?


Okay, I found a great deal on a 2924EN-XL 8MB with the latest IOS software and I got it on the network last night. ($150 from a guy 6 blocks away, still in the original box, perfect condition, with manuals, cords, etc.)

I figured out how to configure some things, like ntp and dns but what I would really like is some kind of guide to the basic management of it, common configuration stuff. Something that's not a tutorial, but like a large command reference or real-world how-to guides.

I've looked at hundreds of pages of Cisco's IOS documentation and it's just disgustingly organized and presented and there's no user feedback or suggestions, or common problems. So are there any good forums that are very active and have lots of searchable archives with info on a switch like this, or how-to guides, FAQ's, etc?

I've really done a lot of searching but haven't found that one great source of information that ties everything together.

Suggestions?

-Jon

__________________
Fork Networking - 1995-2010+
Colocation & Dedicated Hosting
West Coast, 99.999% uptime.
<www.forked.net>



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-2004, 08:03 PM
apexio apexio is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 175
O'Reilly's Cisco IOS in a Nutshell. Just read the whole thing and now I feel like an expert

__________________
Fork Networking - 1995-2010+
Colocation & Dedicated Hosting
West Coast, 99.999% uptime.
<www.forked.net>

  #3  
Old 10-23-2004, 08:30 PM
Coolraul Coolraul is offline
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,941
Eek, you are doing this as a learning exercise right? its not on a production network?

__________________
Can't we all just get along

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-23-2004, 08:32 PM
apexio apexio is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 175
Quote:
Eek, you are doing this as a learning exercise right?
But of course

__________________
Fork Networking - 1995-2010+
Colocation & Dedicated Hosting
West Coast, 99.999% uptime.
<www.forked.net>

  #5  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:44 AM
Morphix Morphix is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 260
Search cisco.com they provide well written documentation about their equipment.

  #6  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:46 AM
apexio apexio is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 175
uhm, yea. Suuuuure it is.

__________________
Fork Networking - 1995-2010+
Colocation & Dedicated Hosting
West Coast, 99.999% uptime.
<www.forked.net>

  #7  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:08 AM
LeaseWeb LeaseWeb is offline
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 642
Re: Managing a Cisco 2900 Switch?

Quote:
Originally posted by apexio

I've looked at hundreds of pages of Cisco's IOS documentation and it's just disgustingly organized and presented and there's no user feedback or suggestions, or common problems. So are there any good forums that are very active and have lots of searchable archives with info on a switch like this, or how-to guides, FAQ's, etc?

-Jon
Well... its a pretty basic switch, there isn't that much that needs managing.

Things we do when a new (acess layer) switch is connected to our network

- update IOS (if needed)
- set IP settings (address, dns, gw)
- set timezone
- set ntp
- disable http
- set telnet and snmp access-lists
- set snmp community
- add switch to our managment system
- shutdown all interfaces (except vlan1 & uplinks)
- setup remote syslog

When we connect a customer we "no shut" that interface and add an interface description.

Most of the things mentioned above dont really need howto's. If you do need pointers let me know.
Or are you planning on doing fancy things with the switch?

  #8  
Old 10-24-2004, 01:23 PM
apexio apexio is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 175
Well, I wanted to know what I *could* do with it. What I'm interested in doing is well, let me list my setup.

I want to use a bridging FreeBSD box as a traffic shaper and firewall (it's all setup and running as a bridge now). But if that server goes down I want the 2924 to stop using it so the network doesn't go down. I'm not sure of the best way to do this.

__________________
Fork Networking - 1995-2010+
Colocation & Dedicated Hosting
West Coast, 99.999% uptime.
<www.forked.net>

  #9  
Old 10-24-2004, 01:58 PM
LeaseWeb LeaseWeb is offline
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally posted by apexio
Well, I wanted to know what I *could* do with it. What I'm interested in doing is well, let me list my setup.

I want to use a bridging FreeBSD box as a traffic shaper and firewall (it's all setup and running as a bridge now). But if that server goes down I want the 2924 to stop using it so the network doesn't go down. I'm not sure of the best way to do this.
Step1:
Uplink (to the world) connected to interface fa0/1
FBSD 1st NIC (outside) connected to interface fa0/2
FBSD 2nd NIC (inside) connected to interface fa0/3
all other servers connect to interfaces fa0/4 --> last

Step2:
put interfaces fa0/1 and fa0/2 in vlan2

Step3:
all other interfaces in vlan1

Step4:
create a script that verifies that FBSD is still doing its job.
If FBSD is down let the script telnet to the switch and put int fa0/1 in vlan1

Presto...

  #10  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:11 PM
apexio apexio is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 175
Hmm, I thought there was some way to let the switch, switch between uplinks if one router went down.. spanning-tree? I want to have the switch manage it all, no outside scripts.

Thanks for the setup info though, i was looking at it differently and yuor setup would be better. How do you relate vlan's to physical interfaces?

Thanks,
Jon

__________________
Fork Networking - 1995-2010+
Colocation & Dedicated Hosting
West Coast, 99.999% uptime.
<www.forked.net>

  #11  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:17 PM
LeaseWeb LeaseWeb is offline
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally posted by apexio
Hmm, I thought there was some way to let the switch, switch between uplinks if one router went down.. spanning-tree? I want to have the switch manage it all, no outside scripts.
spanning tree works if there is a layer2 loop. Which is not the case when you are using the FBSD box.

Quote:
Thanks for the setup info though, i was looking at it differently and yuor setup would be better. How do you relate vlan's to physical interfaces?
Nothing fancy.
- conf t
- interface fa0/X
- switchport acces vlanY
- end

X = interface number
Y = vlan number

  #12  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:29 PM
apexio apexio is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 175
I was thinking of a setup like this:

Unmanaged Switch -> Uplink
Cisco Switch fa/1 -> Unmanaged Switch
FBSD 1st NIC -> Unmanaged Switch
FBSD 2nd NIC -> fa/2

Hence it makes a loop. By default it would use fa/2 to FBSD, to the unmanaged switch, and then out the uplink port. If FBSD goes down, it uses fa/1 to the unmanaged switch and then out the uplink port.

Could spanning-tree be used in this setup to automatically re-negotiate a route if FBSD went down?

__________________
Fork Networking - 1995-2010+
Colocation & Dedicated Hosting
West Coast, 99.999% uptime.
<www.forked.net>

  #13  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:48 PM
LeaseWeb LeaseWeb is offline
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 642
There is a slight chance you could get it to work.
Possibly by setting the spanning-tree cost higher for one of the interfaces.

But I must advise against it.

That setup would only work if the FBSD box powers down.
If FBSD hangs or the pf rules get f*cked up your servers are unreachable.

My previous suggestion with a script would be better.

btw.. I usually do not trust unmanageble switches. it would be a waste to go through all this trouble and build a high availability network with an unmanageable switch as a single point of faillure.

  #14  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:51 PM
apexio apexio is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 175
Thanks for the advice. I'm just trying to make the network as reliable as possible. I dont trust the FBSD box to stay up all the time so I'm not going to use it unless it could automatically be bypassed. I'll try something along the lines of your first recommendation.

-jon

__________________
Fork Networking - 1995-2010+
Colocation & Dedicated Hosting
West Coast, 99.999% uptime.
<www.forked.net>

  #15  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:54 PM
LeaseWeb LeaseWeb is offline
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 642
You can trust FreeBSD to keep running forever... (well.. more or less...)

I have never seen a correctly managed FreeBSD fail/crash/hang unless it had faulty hardware

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Cisco Partners with Dimension Data, Sungard AS, VCE, NetApp, and Others on Cloud Solutions Web Hosting News 2014-05-20 15:07:26
Heartbleed Bug Infects Some Cisco and Juniper Products Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:34:00
Cisco Launches Application-Focused Products, Announces Insieme Acquisition Web Hosting News 2013-11-07 14:00:50
Cisco Systems Completes Acquisition of Cloud Infrastructure Software Cloupia Web Hosting News 2012-12-11 14:06:41
Cisco to Acquire Cloud Automation Software Cloupia for $125 Million Web Hosting News 2012-11-15 15:35:19


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?