hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Domain Names : Domain Registry of America? Snail Spammers!
Reply

Domain Names Discussion of issues related to domain names such as domain registration, DNS transferring, domain reselling, etc. Find domain resellers and registrars. Post domains for sale at Domain Names Advertising.
Forum Jump

Domain Registry of America? Snail Spammers!

Reply Post New Thread In Domain Names Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2002, 04:40 PM
ScottD ScottD is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,067

Domain Registry of America? Snail Spammers!


I just received a an "important notice" from Domain Registry of America that looks almost like an invoice. These silly people are spamming people who's domains are about to expire and trying to get them to 'switch'.

Is it me, or is this really really annoying? Email is bad enough, what with all of those helpless electrons and photons being forced to take shape through fiber pipes and copper tunnels. But now the trees are suffering as well.

A sad day...

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-2002, 04:50 PM
cperciva cperciva is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,603
Re: Domain Registry of America? Snail Spammers!

Quote:
Originally posted by DizixCom
But now the trees are suffering as well.
Umm, junk mail has been around for much longer than spam email...

__________________
Dr. Colin Percival, FreeBSD Security Officer
Online backups for the truly paranoid: http://www.tarsnap.com/

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2002, 12:58 PM
SumBodyElze SumBodyElze is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 19
Re: Domain Registry of America? Snail Spammers!

Quote:
Originally posted by DizixCom
I just received a an "important notice" from Domain Registry of America that looks almost like an invoice. These silly people are spamming people who's domains are about to expire and trying to get them to 'switch'.
A client of mine got the same junk in the mail a few days ago. Unfortunately they fell for it before I could get to them. They sent in a check thinking it was a legit renewal from either me or the current registrar.

Just what I need... another skanky registrar to deal with.

---------------------------------------
Eugene Barnes

<<Please set up an signature (see PROFILES button above)>>


Last edited by Chicken; 04-18-2002 at 02:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 04-17-2002, 10:47 PM
batcavenet batcavenet is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Batcave
Posts: 286
Mailbox

Has anyone else thought about just mounting a trash can on a pole by the curb and writing mail on it?


__________________
www.batcave.net

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2002, 08:17 AM
thewitt thewitt is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,297
The False Billing tactics being used by a number of domain registration companies right now amount to US Postal Fraud, so if you receive one of these and want to stop this from happening, report it to your local post office, or through the web interface on the US Postal Service website.

Though there are rumors flying around of class action suits, the Postal Service route is probably faster and more economical.

There are specific rules and regulations that must be followed for sending advertising in the form of an invoice through the US Mail service - DRoA and Verisign both appear in my opinion to be in clear violation of these regulations.

-t

__________________
myOstrich Internet - OpenSRS Domain Names & Digital Certificates
http://www.myostrich.net

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2002, 12:24 PM
SumBodyElze SumBodyElze is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 19
I wish I hadn't thrown my DRoA, Interland, and Verisign "renewal" forms away... oh, well.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2002, 01:50 PM
WildWayz WildWayz is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Nr Cambridge, UK
Posts: 525
I have had a *lot* of this - just tore up one - got one unopened if u need it.

James

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2002, 02:09 PM
bok bok is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 228
Why would eNom allow their reseller to do this?

Register.com Sues Rival For Alleged Customer Deception
Tuesday September 17, 11:46 am ET

By Ross Snel, Of DOW JONES NEWSWIRES


NEW YORK -(Dow Jones)- Register.com Inc. (NasdaqNM:RCOM - News) is suing competitor Domain Registry of America Inc., alleging it used deceptive practices to try to win over Register.com customers.
The complaint adds to the list of legal battles in the highly competitive Internet registrar business. VeriSign Inc. (NasdaqNM:VRSN - News) , for example, has been the focus of several lawsuits related to the way it sought new customers.

Register.com, New York, is an Internet registrar, which means it sells Web addresses, or domain names, on a retail basis.

Its complaint, filed last month in federal District Court for the Southern District of New York, alleges that Domain Registry of America and its affiliates improperly gained access to Register.com's database of customer information.

Domain Registry of America, Markham, Ontario, resells Internet addresses on behalf of registrar eNom Inc. It has been sending direct mail promotions to Register.com customers, advising them to "renew" their domain names before they expire, the complaint alleges.

The promotions fail to mention that Register.com, and not Domain Registry of America, is the original registrar, according to the complaint. Domain Registry of America attempts to deceive customers into believing the promotions were sent by or on behalf of Register.com, the complaint alleges.

After Domain Registry of America receives payments from customers, it then sends them e-mails with links to its Web sites to confirm the order, according to the complaint. Register.com says the e-mails and Web sites are deceptive, and designed to appear as if Domain Registry of America is allied with, or acting on behalf of, Register.com.

Among other things, the complaint alleges that Domain Registry of America infringed on Register.com's trademark, engaged in unfair competition and interfered with Register.com's customer relationships.

Representatives of Domain Registry of America didn't return phone calls seeking comment.

Brett Lewis, assistant general counsel with Register.com, said the plaintiff has lost thousands of customers to Domain Registry of America as a result.

He added that the damage to Register.com goes beyond that. He said many customers have been confused and don't realize the promotions weren't sent by Register.com.

"The biggest harm from this type of conduct is what it can do to your brand and reputation," he said.

Shares of Register.com recently changed hands at $3.97, down 20 cents, or 4.8% , on volume of 85,400. Average daily volume is 173,200 shares.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-20-2002, 05:22 PM
SpocksBrain SpocksBrain is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 44
Domain Regiistry of America also operates as Domain Registry of Canada (www.droc.ca) from Markham Ontario Canada.
They are also violating Canadian laws, http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/scams/bfraud.htm,
and can be reported to the Competition Bureau

"The Competition Bureau is an independent law enforcement agency that ensures all Canadians enjoy the benefits of a competitive economy, low prices, product choice and quality service. It oversees the application of the Competition Act, the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act, the Textile Labelling Act and the Precious Metals Marking Act.

The Competition Bureau examines complaints of suspected misleading representations in the marketplace. Businesses and consumers who believe they have been misled should contact the Bureau toll free at 1-800-348-5358 or visit the Bureau's web site located at: www.competition.ic.gc.ca ."
File a complaint at: http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/SSG/ct02107e.html

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-20-2002, 09:38 PM
RMF RMF is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,056
I get spammed by them all the time "DROC". Its annoying. I never falled for their tactics cause you don't need to be a genius to figure out what there trying to do.

RMF

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-21-2002, 12:59 AM
WildWayz WildWayz is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Nr Cambridge, UK
Posts: 525
In the UK it is
Domain Registry of America
56 Gloucester Road,
Suite 526,
London,
England.
SW7 4UB

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Public Interest Registry Targets International Markets for .org Growth Web Hosting News 2013-02-27 17:16:48
Domain Marketplace Sedo Offers Previously Unreleased .CO Domains Web Hosting News 2012-01-11 15:12:49
Security Firm eleven Report Finds 89 Percent Spam Increase Since July Web Hosting News 2011-10-12 19:04:26
.XXX Domain Sunrise Period Opens Wednesday Web Hosting News 2011-09-06 20:50:41
.CO Domain Reaches 1 Million Registrations Web Hosting News 2011-06-02 21:01:01


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?