Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Is 1000GB transfer == 500GB down/500GB up?

I've signed up for a Tranxactglobal plan recently and they upped my transfer from 400GB to 1000GB transfer with a custom plan. Little did I know that the 1000GB transfer was actually 500GB down/500GB up and was told that if I wanted 1000GB up/1000GB down, I'd have to write to Jeff Hinkle (the guy who customized my plan in the first place).

Is this the usual industry practice? I ask because this is my first time purchasing a server with large transfer allocation (for my company).

Thanks for any advice

well, *most* places are usually the sum or the 2. so say if you had a plan with 1000gb, you could do it in any combination , 800gb in + 200gb out, 500gb both ways. etc. tranxactglobal is one of the few places that have that total divided in half like if its 1000gb than its 500/500. If you look at their forums they have a poll where the admin asked if the customers would rather have it with the total, so far its like 17-0 in favor of total for the voting. So probably they might change it. the only thing that scared me about grabbing a box there was exactly what you are talking about.

Thanks for letting me know about that thread. I found it (oops, can't post URLs yet) and saw your post there too.

Well, I really didn't know that it was like this when I signed up and to my knowledge it wasn't stated anywhere in their site. I think I'll probably cancel unless they can give make it combined up/down transfer for me.

It is not a usual business practise at all. In fact it is very unusual, and obviously in favour of the host. I will never use a host with that kind of "creative" marketing.

Everyone knows that IN is usually (for 99% of all hosting customers) only around 2-5 % of OUT. Yet they make it sound like dividing the total BW equally into 2 halfs is a good or usual thing.

It is simply a tricky way to advertise more than they actually deliver