hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : SSH failing and Telnet disabled
Reply

Forum Jump

SSH failing and Telnet disabled

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2004, 10:22 PM
FunkyFrog FunkyFrog is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 349

SSH failing and Telnet disabled


Hi Guys,

Does anybody have any idea what to do about this?

I cannot access SSH. It keeps failing and even attempting to restart it in WHM fails. Telnet has been disabled so that is not an option.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-03-2004, 12:01 AM
blessen blessen is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Gods Own Country
Posts: 861
Do not get panic..i will give u a fix for this..

1) login to your WHM

2) Go to the Software Section


3) Then go to The section "Install and RPM"

4)Then try reinstalling SSH packages forcefully


5) Now all your issues are solved :-D and try loggin into the server through SSH

Enjoy :-D

__________________
Blessen Cherian
Follow me on twitter.com/blessenonly
Over a decade plus in the Hosting Industry

  #3  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:45 AM
FunkyFrog FunkyFrog is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 349
OK, I did that. It did not work.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-03-2004, 02:01 AM
sprintserve sprintserve is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,009
What error did you get on restarting SSH? Your next alternative really is to get the data center to fix it as it's hard to fix a problem when you can't even log in

__________________
Like us on Facebook to qualify for discounts!
http://www.sprintserve.net
Offering: | Internap FCP Bandwidth! | Rebootless Kernel Updates! | Magento Optimized Hosting | Wordpress Hosting |
Services: | Managed Multiple Cores 64bit Servers | Server Management |

  #5  
Old 10-03-2004, 02:18 AM
FunkyFrog FunkyFrog is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 349
It's telling me: Network Error, Connection Timed Out. I get the same message in Putty AND in WinSCP3. In WHM when I attemt to restart the service, I get this error:

Oct 3 02:17:08 elements sshd: sshd -TERM succeeded Oct 3 02:17:08 elements sshd: succeeded sshd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.

I guess I have no choice but to contact the DC.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
KPN Acquires Dutch Hosting Provider Argeweb Web Hosting News 2014-08-29 11:54:57
Dropbox Vulnerability Allows Unauthorized Access of User Files Web Hosting News 2014-05-07 14:31:27
UK Web Host Shard Hosting Ends Service Web Hosting News 2013-11-18 11:04:08
LeaseWeb Mitigates Weekend DNS Hijack Issue Web Hosting News 2013-10-08 10:25:35
New Zealand Scammer to be Sentenced for Selling Web Hosting Business Three Times Web Hosting News 2012-09-04 17:01:20


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?