How bad is online credit card fraud? (figures)

Does anyone have or knows of a site (or resource even if i have to pay) that displays current online credit card fraud rates from a client point of view? I'm doing my thesis and am interested on the mental and physical 'suffering' that clients endure after having their credit card details stolen online.

Any help would be appreciated.

Dan

I might be able to point you to some resources but... are you talking about from a consumer perspective? Or a merchant perspective?

There is no real liability to consumers who have their credit card information compromised... they simply charge back the unauthorized purchase and have their credit card replaced.

The real loss & damage is incurred on the merchant-level from chargeback losses resulting from merchants inadvertently accepting stolen cards, shipping products and then getting their sales funds charged back... losing both the product as well as the proceeds.

Now if you are talking about identity theft - that is an entirely different topic. And there is a vast amount of mental suffering and long term damage that it can cause individuals.
    CDGcommerce.com - Trusted Merchant Account Solutions since 1998
    Many thousands of successful, growing businesses benefit from our expertise every day. You can, too!
    We help merchants to eliminate gateway costs, reduce & mitigate fraud and achieve streamlined PCI compliance.
    Learn more today at http://www.cdgcommerce.com - we look forward to helping your business grow!

Any official sources of credit card fraud (real fraud by 3rd parties) will be inaccurate and "puffed" to meet the needs of the firm or industry which is making those figures available.