hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : How do I SSL secure a directory?
Reply

Forum Jump

How do I SSL secure a directory?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2004, 12:32 PM
hostingeye hostingeye is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1

How do I SSL secure a directory?


Hi;

I have a customer asking:

How do I configure a directory to be encrypted using SSL? I don't want to password protect the directory (this will be done using PHP), I just want to encrypt it.

Could someone help please

Regards

Nick



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-27-2004, 12:40 PM
pmabraham pmabraham is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,221
Greetings:

Secure Socket Layer (SSL) is used to encrypt communication between a client (for example a browser) and a server (for example a Web server).

SSL on the server is done based on a host name basis and can either be for one host name or a wild card.

It is not done on a given directory; but is applicable for the entire directory structure to which a host name has access.

Thank you.

__________________
---
Peter M. Abraham
LinkedIn Profile


  #3  
Old 08-27-2004, 01:08 PM
harryhood harryhood is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 481
You would create a CSR (certificate signing request) for the domain (or subdomain.domain) that you wish to secure. Then either create a self-signed ssl certificate from the CSR or purchase a certificate from a company that sells more trusted certificates.

Once you have your certificate you install in on the domain and when the domain is accessed via https:// it will be encrypted.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 08-28-2004, 08:51 AM
Corey Bryant Corey Bryant is offline
Texan at Heart
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Castle Pines, CO
Posts: 7,189
Welcome to the forums Nick!

Also make sure that you put it for your domain - www.domain.com - (or another sub-domain if applicable). If you use the common name domain.com, then you can only use https://domain.com

  #5  
Old 08-28-2004, 08:58 AM
harryhood harryhood is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 481
Correct, and in the manner if the certificate is for www.domain.com then you will only be able to use https://www.domain.com and not https://domain.com

  #6  
Old 09-06-2004, 04:44 PM
buyourweb buyourweb is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 158
I'm trying to do an SSL Certificate for a customer.They are using an osCommerce site. Do I need to place this website on a different IP then the rest of my customers?

Also any other tips for a newbie on this topic? I know once I get this site secured my other customers will want their ecommerce site ssecured also...

Thanks everyone in advanced

__________________
Brad
www.buyourwebhosting.com
AIM Screen Name - buyourweb
More power than a web site needs - xController cPanel theme and Fantastico

  #7  
Old 09-06-2004, 04:57 PM
Corey Bryant Corey Bryant is offline
Texan at Heart
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Castle Pines, CO
Posts: 7,189
The SSL site needed to have a dedicated IP address. Each SSL cert you install will need to have its own IP address.

  #8  
Old 09-06-2004, 05:04 PM
buyourweb buyourweb is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 158
Corey

1) Do I just go into cPanel/WHM and Add New IP Address ( I have used 2 out of the 5 I have, first two are for DNS.

2) Change website for SSL old IP to new IP using cPanel/WHM
3) How do I add the New IP Address so everyone can find it.
4) Go out and buy SSL Correct.
?

Thanks again.

__________________
Brad
www.buyourwebhosting.com
AIM Screen Name - buyourweb
More power than a web site needs - xController cPanel theme and Fantastico

  #9  
Old 09-06-2004, 05:12 PM
Corey Bryant Corey Bryant is offline
Texan at Heart
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Castle Pines, CO
Posts: 7,189
I am not a CPAnel person - sorry. I use Helm & Windows. You might post a question in the Control Panel topic area or search there to see how to designate an IP address to a certain client.

Once you do give a domain / URL an IP address, it should update automatically since you are the SOA. And then yes - check out www.ev1servers.net for their prices on SSLs.

  #10  
Old 09-06-2004, 05:22 PM
buyourweb buyourweb is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 158
Thanks Corey for your time.
I now understand the process a little more.

Peace

__________________
Brad
www.buyourwebhosting.com
AIM Screen Name - buyourweb
More power than a web site needs - xController cPanel theme and Fantastico

  #11  
Old 09-07-2004, 12:31 AM
buyourweb buyourweb is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 158
Have a little problem now!
I bought an SSL Certificate.
I change the domain to a dedicated IP address (Added New IP address though cPanel/WHM and change domain IP address though cPanel/WHM).
I installed the SSL certificate(Installed though cPanel/WHM).
Now when I type in the my domain www.domain.com I get my webhost main website????????????????
I have tried both http://www.domain.com and https://www.domain.com and it is like the site is no longer there.

Do I need to change nameservers or something, I know I'm missing something small.
Help

__________________
Brad
www.buyourwebhosting.com
AIM Screen Name - buyourweb
More power than a web site needs - xController cPanel theme and Fantastico

  #12  
Old 09-07-2004, 08:19 AM
Corey Bryant Corey Bryant is offline
Texan at Heart
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Castle Pines, CO
Posts: 7,189
Did you put in the correct ports?

  #13  
Old 09-07-2004, 08:44 AM
AndyGambles AndyGambles is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 395
have the DNS changes propogated?

Your DNS might be caching the previous shared IP rather than the new dedicated IP.

__________________
Andy
Resell SSL Certificates - API / WHMCS / HostBill / ClientExec
ServerTastic - RapidSSL, Geotrust, Thawte, Symantec, SmarterTools and more

  #14  
Old 09-07-2004, 11:50 AM
buyourweb buyourweb is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 158
Hey Everyone thanks for all the help!
I have it all working now.
I had two little problems going on at the same time.

One - Was waiting a few for the DNS to propogated.

Two - I had to restart the whole server after config. For some reason just restarting services wasn't working.

__________________
Brad
www.buyourwebhosting.com
AIM Screen Name - buyourweb
More power than a web site needs - xController cPanel theme and Fantastico

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Ads Available for the Second Printing of WHIR’s Annual Hottest Hosts Directory Blog 2014-04-08 16:52:36
Book Your Spot in the WHIR's 6th Annual Hottest Hosts Directory Before it's Too Late! Blog 2014-01-10 12:31:05
Get Listed in WHIR Magazine’s 7th Annual Hottest Hosts Issue Coming January 2014 Blog 2013-10-11 09:34:50
GlobalSign Launches Auto Enrollment Gateway for Windows Environments Web Hosting News 2013-08-21 11:41:18
Windows Azure Offers Active Directory in General Availability Web Hosting News 2013-04-09 14:09:20


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?