Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Paying for testimonials... unethical?

This has come up in a discussion here at work and I wanted to get some opinions.

Do you feel it is unethical to pay for testimonials?

More specifically, our situation...

I work for a tech company who's primary focus is onsite IT support, though we have a 5 person team for the web development side, so we do that as well as web hosting.

On our site we have testimonials of course, but people are given "coupons" for submitting them. Also, we have a sales associate who is following up with customers to see how they liked the service - it is during this phone call that he is offering the "coupons" and encouraging them to write a testimonial.

What brought this to our attention primarily was that we just received a testimonial in which the customer started off the testimonial by saying... "Well, I have never done this before, but if it get's me "coupons", then I'll give it a try".

Myself and a co-worker feel this is very unethical and have brought it to the attention of the owner, who informed us that it was his idea and he disagreed that it was unethical. He claims we are paying for their time.

My question(s) is this - what is your take on this both ethically as well as legally.

Thanks,
    Something witty here...

Offering a monetary incentive in return for a testimonial is unethical in my opinion. That monetary incentive could be interpreted as the company "buying" the praise or influencing the testimonial to their favor.

Asking for a testimonial is a different beast. I personally do not like that method either, however it does bypass the issue of the person getting a reward for the testimonial.

I think it is wrong as well. If someone likes your service, they will contact you & let you know. All our clients have told us they would always give us a great reference.