hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : MySQL installation
Reply

Forum Jump

MySQL installation

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2000, 10:22 PM
Nam Nam is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NY
Posts: 435
Question

I have this stupid question because I've never installed mySQL before. My host is tera-bytes.com (lucky that I had control over my dns or I'll wait for webexpose.net forever). Okay, I'm going to install PHP nuke. The install file says:

Change to the sql/ directory and there is a file called "nuke.sql" this file contains the commands to build the database structure, tables and the default data.

1) Create a database called, for example, nuke:
mysqladmin create nuke
2) Now fill the databases with the tables in nuke.sql file:
mysql nuke < nuke.sql
3) In order to use the File Manager, please be sure to chmod 666 ALL files and 777 ALL directories.

But I don't know how to make sql file and what is the directory. I asked tera-bytes and they replied:

a mysql db has been setup for you on the localhost.
Database Name: myusername
Database Username: myusername
Database Password: ***

to use the db:
mysql -u myusername -p
enter your password when prompted
mysql> use myusername
You can place your php files etc and run them from ant folder on your site.

Please help, what did they mean? where can I type the mysql -u myusername -p? How can I create the nuke file above? I'm clueless. Thank you so much for helping me.





Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-09-2000, 10:48 PM
MSW MSW is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Posts: 592
You need to telnet into your account to do this.

__________________
Top Hat Domains
Internet Services for Less. Period.
Peoria, Arizona
http://www.tophatdomains.com

  #3  
Old 11-10-2000, 01:40 PM
gthorley gthorley is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 172
Nam
You probably figured this out already.
I haven't got mysql but while on a telnet to my account with tera-byte I entered mysql -u myusername -p and it asked for a password.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 11-10-2000, 07:45 PM
Nam Nam is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NY
Posts: 435
Thanks guys, I still haven't figured out yet, may be this question is so stupid that nobody bother to help.

I did try telnet, and it did ask my password, but my question is, what directory that created database would go to? How to link?

I've seen other webhosting that allow you to create mySQL in their control pannel, is that right? I think that is much easier than telnet, which I don't know much about it.

  #5  
Old 11-10-2000, 09:02 PM
BC BC is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: 80,000 feet under the sur
Posts: 2,736
Nam,

You're probably referring to the superb PHP utility phpMyAdmin, available at http://www.phpwizard.net/projects/phpMyAdmin/index.html

You can easily install it on your account (though I think Tera-Byte might already have it somewhere - check with them)...

__________________
My 2 Cents.... (or is that 2.2 cents inc. GST...?)

Have a think about this : Programming is like sex. Make a single little mistake, and you'll be supporting it for the rest of your life.

  #6  
Old 11-10-2000, 09:26 PM
Chicken Chicken is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 12,121
Quote:
Originally posted by Nam
Thanks guys, I still haven't figured out yet, may be this question is so stupid that nobody bother to help.

I did try telnet, and it did ask my password, but my question is, what directory that created database would go to? How to link?

I've seen other webhosting that allow you to create mySQL in their control pannel, is that right? I think that is much easier than telnet, which I don't know much about it.
Ok, so you have a db, and a password now correct? You don't really have to worry about where it is. Now, you don't link to it- rahter you configure whatever it is that you are going to use the db for.

My vBulletin uses a config file something like this:

// only mysql is supported at the moment
$dbservertype="mysql";
// hostname or ip of server
$servername="localhost";
// username and password to log onto db server
$dbusername="***yourusername***";
$dbpassword="***yourpass***";
// name of database
$dbname="***nameofdb***";

__________________
HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

Chicken

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
WHMCS Encourages Users to Upgrade as Part of Important Security Update Web Hosting News 2014-08-27 12:05:55
Tesora's OpenStack DBaaS Supports MongoDB, Cassandra, Redis, and MySQL Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 14:53:11
Google Releases Hosted Database Service Cloud SQL to General Availability Web Hosting News 2014-02-12 13:46:02
Google Cloud Provides Support For Native MySQL Connections Web Hosting News 2013-11-01 14:36:06
PHP And MySQL Scaling: Preparing A Startup For Growth Blog 2014-04-24 13:27:35


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?