hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Domain Names : What actualy happens when you register a domain name?

Forum Jump

What actualy happens when you register a domain name?

Reply Post New Thread In Domain Names Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-13-2004, 06:25 PM
Junior Guru Wannabe

What actualy happens when you register a domain name?

I'm new to all that domain name registring. So what does actualy happens when you register a domain name? Do you get a password and a site where you can manage it? And what if the site where you registed it does out of bussines - does it become unregistered?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-2004, 06:54 PM
Retired Moderator

depends on the company you register at they give you a password or an account to manage multiple domains.

usually its an account where you manage your domain(s)

if they are a reseller who went out of business you can always ask the registrar (icann accredited registrar) for help to manage your domain.

usually registrars doesn't go out of business but just incase other registrars buy them out.

domains doesn't get auto unregistered because they are registered at the registry (for example verisign-grs.com for com/net pir.org for .org etc..)

Twitter: Bashar Al-Abdulhadi

Old 08-13-2004, 07:15 PM
Junior Guru Wannabe

Let's say I want to register domain name with http://namecheap.com/ but use web space and scripts of http://www.bravenet.com/

Can I do that? Would I be managing domain with namecheap?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-2004, 11:40 PM

You need to point your domain name to bravenet's servers. To accomplish this, go to namecheap's website, and select the option to modify your DNS (Domain Name Server) record. Enter the DNS settings for your domain specified by bravenet.

Old 08-14-2004, 03:22 AM
Web Hosting Master

Re: What actualy happens when you register a domain name?

Quote: