Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Logo / top banner design contest(?)

I'm redesigning/relaunching a community website and need to come up with a new logo/graphic that can be used on a business card as well as the 'top' graphic for the site. Would like to be light/sky blue as the primary color... I think.

Let me say this, the site hasn't had a redesign/facelift in at least 5 years, so I know it's dated and not so flashy. I'm still not big on having graphic heavy 'flashy' websites, but I'm ready to accept I'm no graphic artist and will be looking for a nice template to use as well. So as you visit the site for ideas, keep the comments to yourself!

But for right now, a little background. the site is located at www.DaytONline.com (pronounced dayton online.com) Since I own the www.daytononline.com domain as well, I'm giving up on the cutesy spelling as no one ever 'got it' anyway. So the graphic should have the site name as www.DaytonOnline.com or some deviation of that (same spelling but be creative on how you present it)

A little background Dayton is located in the south west part of Ohio in the Midwest of the USA. It has a history with aviation. The Wright Brothers (inventors of the first airplane) are from here. The first controlled flight took place here. We're not far from the birth place of John Glenn first U.S. man in space, and 30 minutes from the hometown of Neil Armstrong the first man on the moon. Why am I telling you this? Because around here it is a big deal. We have a huge U.S. Air Force Base and a lot of history with flight and technology. So the graphic needs to reflect that with a sense of aviation history and future technology. Way back, there was an active webring and the motto was "Birthplace of Aviation and Cradle of Innovation", hmmm... I still kinda like that.