hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Which managed switch should I choose?
Reply

Forum Jump

Which managed switch should I choose?

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 198

Which managed switch should I choose?


bandwidth usage graph.
Remote control of the switch.
Basic ip blocking.
vlan.
transfer between all servers using this switch.
4 port.

In my mind there are cisco 2624. 2650. dell 3xxx.

Which one is more reliable and most cost effective/features?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 178
Foundy EdgeIron 2402CF - http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/def...spx?EDC=470846

While more expensive, you will get the best switch (IMO).

I see that you only need 4 ports, but a quick check on prices of some Cisco switches shows that 24 port switches are actually cheaper (for the most part) than a 12 port switch. Just something to keep in mind.

__________________
Robert Donaldson | Netivex
Toronto | Dedicated Servers

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 178
Also, do Dell switches not have a problem with MRTG? I could be wrong, maybe somebody could help clarify this.

__________________
Robert Donaldson | Netivex
Toronto | Dedicated Servers

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 1,083
Those Dell switches have a problem with *. I will never use one in a production environment again.

__________________
Jeff at Innovative Network Concepts / 212-981-0607 x8579 / AIM: jeffsw6
Expert IP network consultation and operation at affordable rates
95th Percentile Explained Rate-Limiting on Cisco IOS switches

  #5  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Dell switches are a huge pain.

The foundry is a nice piece of gear. We are switching over almost totally to foundry.

You could also go on ebay and get a 2924 depending on how mission critical your application is. Probably pay less than $250 is you hunt around.

__________________
Sago Networks
CoLocation / Dedicated Servers
Track our Data Center Expansion at http://www.sagonet.com/datacenter

  #6  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 198
I will get 24 ports for expansion later on, 100Mbps port uplink to it.

What are the choices if it is mission critical?

  #7  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 391
We have had great success with the HP Procurve 2524's. Great managed switch, and a lifetime warranty from HP. They do everything you are looking for, and are about the same price new on Ebay as used 2924's.

Peter

__________________
The Maag Group - Intelligent IT Solutions
Colocation Dedicated Servers Server Administration
www.maaggroup.com 877.622.4477

  #8  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 1,083
The original poster asked for IP blocking. They want a layer 3 switch. Certainly a 2924 won't suffice. My recommendations are all probably out of the 4 port user's budget.

__________________
Jeff at Innovative Network Concepts / 212-981-0607 x8579 / AIM: jeffsw6
Expert IP network consultation and operation at affordable rates
95th Percentile Explained Rate-Limiting on Cisco IOS switches

  #9  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 391
Quote:
The original poster asked for IP blocking.
Ahh you are right. In that case a Foundry FWS24 would probably be the least expensive reputable Layer 3 switch. If you have DC power you can get one on Ebay for under $250. AC versions go around $600+.

Layer 3 stuff is $$.

Peter

__________________
The Maag Group - Intelligent IT Solutions
Colocation Dedicated Servers Server Administration
www.maaggroup.com 877.622.4477

  #10  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 198
Take off the ip blocking, dont really want to go into layer 3.
if I can do it with layer2, that's a good plus.

  #11  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 391
You can't do IP blocking on a Layer 2 switch, thats the reason why the switch isn't Layer 3. Take a look at the OSI model, as Layer 3 is known as the Network Layer, and you can't do any network address based switching/routing on Layer 2(Data link).

If IP blocking is out I still stand by my HP recommendation.

Peter

__________________
The Maag Group - Intelligent IT Solutions
Colocation Dedicated Servers Server Administration
www.maaggroup.com 877.622.4477

  #12  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
.

........

  #13  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 198
e12pilot : thanks for your firm suggestion

newfiesheek : what ar eyou trying to say?

  #14  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 196
Of the hosts that are using foundry, which foundry product is being used at the customer layer?

  #15  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 1,083
We use Foundry for customers with GigabitEthernet ports, but the Foundry boxes are used for switching only. The more you know about layer 3 forwarding on Foundry, the more afraid you're likely to be to utilize it in that capacity. Even in a layer 2 only configuration there are caveats the network operators must be aware of.

__________________
Jeff at Innovative Network Concepts / 212-981-0607 x8579 / AIM: jeffsw6
Expert IP network consultation and operation at affordable rates
95th Percentile Explained Rate-Limiting on Cisco IOS switches

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Rackspace Launches Managed Google Apps for Work Web Hosting News 2014-10-07 11:27:37
New Switch.co Service Provides a Cloud-Based Phone System Running on Google Apps Web Hosting News 2014-10-03 09:18:19
Switch Unveils SuperNAP 8 Data Center in Las Vegas Web Hosting News 2013-06-07 15:39:20
Switch SUPERNAP Named Official Online Gaming Hosting Center Web Hosting News 2013-05-31 10:46:52
Switch Datacenters Launches Incubator for Energy Efficient Data Center Hardware Web Hosting News 2012-11-19 13:09:07


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?