Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    198

    Which managed switch should I choose?

    bandwidth usage graph.
    Remote control of the switch.
    Basic ip blocking.
    vlan.
    transfer between all servers using this switch.
    4 port.

    In my mind there are cisco 2624. 2650. dell 3xxx.

    Which one is more reliable and most cost effective/features?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    178
    Foundy EdgeIron 2402CF - http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/def...spx?EDC=470846

    While more expensive, you will get the best switch (IMO).

    I see that you only need 4 ports, but a quick check on prices of some Cisco switches shows that 24 port switches are actually cheaper (for the most part) than a 12 port switch. Just something to keep in mind.
    Robert Donaldson | Netivex
    Toronto | Dedicated Servers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    178
    Also, do Dell switches not have a problem with MRTG? I could be wrong, maybe somebody could help clarify this.
    Robert Donaldson | Netivex
    Toronto | Dedicated Servers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Louisville, Kentucky
    Posts
    1,083
    Those Dell switches have a problem with *. I will never use one in a production environment again.
    Jeff at Innovative Network Concepts / 212-981-0607 x8579 / AIM: jeffsw6
    Expert IP network consultation and operation at affordable rates
    95th Percentile Explained Rate-Limiting on Cisco IOS switches

  5. #5
    Dell switches are a huge pain.

    The foundry is a nice piece of gear. We are switching over almost totally to foundry.

    You could also go on ebay and get a 2924 depending on how mission critical your application is. Probably pay less than $250 is you hunt around.
    Sago Networks
    CoLocation / Dedicated Servers
    Track our Data Center Expansion at http://www.sagonet.com/datacenter

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    198
    I will get 24 ports for expansion later on, 100Mbps port uplink to it.

    What are the choices if it is mission critical?

  7. #7
    We have had great success with the HP Procurve 2524's. Great managed switch, and a lifetime warranty from HP. They do everything you are looking for, and are about the same price new on Ebay as used 2924's.

    Peter
    The Maag Group - Intelligent IT Solutions
    Colocation Dedicated Servers Server Administration
    www.maaggroup.com 877.622.4477

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Louisville, Kentucky
    Posts
    1,083
    The original poster asked for IP blocking. They want a layer 3 switch. Certainly a 2924 won't suffice. My recommendations are all probably out of the 4 port user's budget.
    Jeff at Innovative Network Concepts / 212-981-0607 x8579 / AIM: jeffsw6
    Expert IP network consultation and operation at affordable rates
    95th Percentile Explained Rate-Limiting on Cisco IOS switches

  9. #9
    The original poster asked for IP blocking.
    Ahh you are right. In that case a Foundry FWS24 would probably be the least expensive reputable Layer 3 switch. If you have DC power you can get one on Ebay for under $250. AC versions go around $600+.

    Layer 3 stuff is $$.

    Peter
    The Maag Group - Intelligent IT Solutions
    Colocation Dedicated Servers Server Administration
    www.maaggroup.com 877.622.4477

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    198
    Take off the ip blocking, dont really want to go into layer 3.
    if I can do it with layer2, that's a good plus.

  11. #11
    You can't do IP blocking on a Layer 2 switch, thats the reason why the switch isn't Layer 3. Take a look at the OSI model, as Layer 3 is known as the Network Layer, and you can't do any network address based switching/routing on Layer 2(Data link).

    If IP blocking is out I still stand by my HP recommendation.

    Peter
    The Maag Group - Intelligent IT Solutions
    Colocation Dedicated Servers Server Administration
    www.maaggroup.com 877.622.4477

  12. #12

    .

    ........

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    198
    e12pilot : thanks for your firm suggestion

    newfiesheek : what ar eyou trying to say?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    198
    Of the hosts that are using foundry, which foundry product is being used at the customer layer?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Louisville, Kentucky
    Posts
    1,083
    We use Foundry for customers with GigabitEthernet ports, but the Foundry boxes are used for switching only. The more you know about layer 3 forwarding on Foundry, the more afraid you're likely to be to utilize it in that capacity. Even in a layer 2 only configuration there are caveats the network operators must be aware of.
    Jeff at Innovative Network Concepts / 212-981-0607 x8579 / AIM: jeffsw6
    Expert IP network consultation and operation at affordable rates
    95th Percentile Explained Rate-Limiting on Cisco IOS switches

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kirkland, WA
    Posts
    4,448
    Originally posted by jsw6
    We use Foundry for customers with GigabitEthernet ports, but the Foundry boxes are used for switching only. The more you know about layer 3 forwarding on Foundry, the more afraid you're likely to be to utilize it in that capacity. Even in a layer 2 only configuration there are caveats the network operators must be aware of.
    What do you use for typical FastE customers?
    Nick Nelson
    Sr. Director & GM, VAS
    Demand Media
    425.298.2282 nn@demandmedia.com

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,268
    Do yourself a favor and avoid Dell,

    We used a Dell Powerconnect 3024, don't make the same mistake that we did.
    Avi Brender
    Reliable Web Hosting by Elite Hosts, Inc
    CPANEL Reseller Hosting - Fantastico - Rvskins - ClientExec

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Louisville, Kentucky
    Posts
    1,083
    Originally posted by nickn
    What do you use for typical FastE customers?
    We connect most FastE customers to Cisco 3548 or 3550 switches. In the case of the older 3548 switches, the customer's VLAN is trunked to a Juniper router, which is their first layer 3 hop. No customers are on shared VLANs.

    Obviously we utilize the layer 3 capabilities of the 3550s, which are a great customer aggregation switch for co-location and dedicated environments. They have just the right number of ports to run one switch per cabinet, and with the EMI software, they will speak OSPF and iBGP. That makes network management tasks such as assigning additional IP addresses to customers a snap, and provides full layer 3 redundancy to every switch without worrying about spanning-tree convergence. You also don't waste IP addresses on things like HSRP or VRRP, so customer interfaces can be assigned into a /30 instead of a /29.

    I also have FastEthernet ports available in my Foundry switches, but again, they are only really useful in a layer 2 capacity, in my opinion; meaning the customer gets a VLAN directly to a Juniper. This is just a flexibility measure, as sometimes you get a customer with their own switch that only has 100baseT ports but wants redundant circuits or more than 100Mb/s of capacity; other times you just don't want a sustained 100Mb user on an aggregation switch when you can move them closer to the core with a simple CAT5 patch.

    If anyone has questions about how all this is implemented, feel free to AIM me. It's straight-forward, reliable, and easy to manage.
    Jeff at Innovative Network Concepts / 212-981-0607 x8579 / AIM: jeffsw6
    Expert IP network consultation and operation at affordable rates
    95th Percentile Explained Rate-Limiting on Cisco IOS switches

  19. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •