Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,350

    hi, I need a spec on AMD XP and AMD 64 server Plz help

    since there is no server board for AMD XP and Athlon 64. what desktop motherboard would you recommand for XP and Athlon 64. what kind of tower and rackmount server spec do you have?

    i

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    for AMD uniprocessor, might really want to consider Opteron 142 (about $200) on Tyan Tomcat K8S (S2850G2N, about $165) which is a true server board and it can be installed 1U or 2U configuration.

    $50/$100 extra can get u Opteron 144/146.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,350
    Originally posted by cwl@apaqdigital
    for AMD uniprocessor, might really want to consider Opteron 142 (about $200) on Tyan Tomcat K8S (S2850G2N, about $165) which is a true server board and it can be installed 1U or 2U configuration.

    $50/$100 extra can get u Opteron 144/146.
    i'm on real tight budget. if Duron can be use as server. i might even go for Duron server.

    it's for small office use. file server, AD controller use

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    sure, duron can be used for server. I had even sold some dual duron servers before. yes, unlike XP, duron 1.2G or lower can be dualed right out of box, and they are identified as 'duron MP'.

    if the server is going to sit in office, why not just tower case. rack-mount chassis itself costs serveral times of standard tower. especially it can be rather costly to cool Athlon/Duron properly in 1U.

    low-end XP does not cost much more than a duron. I would use Athlon XP.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,350
    Originally posted by cwl@apaqdigital
    sure, duron can be used for server. I had even sold some dual duron servers before. yes, unlike XP, duron 1.2G or lower can be dualed right out of box, and they are identified as 'duron MP'.

    if the server is going to sit in office, why not just tower case. rack-mount chassis itself costs serveral times of standard tower. especially it can be rather costly to cool Athlon/Duron properly in 1U.

    low-end XP does not cost much more than a duron. I would use Athlon XP.
    thank you for your advice. what kind of configuration would you recommand? motherboard/ram/hard disk...estc.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    for tower case, it will be rather easy to configure a file server.

    perhaps,
    XP2400
    Asus AV78X board
    512M~1G DDR-400
    dual 80G~120G SATA, hardware RAID-1 if budget allows
    low-end ATI or nVidia AGP video
    single or dual gigabit NIC
    DVD-RW or external USB based HDD for off-server backup
    nicely cooled Tower case, 300w min.; an Antec case will be a nice choice.

    are u running windows or linux?
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •