
06-28-2004, 09:57 PM
|
|
|
|
Liberty Names of America lnoa.com
Anyone come accross these clowns before? My customer received their renewal notification from us (well from enom actually) and he just contacted me saying that he already "renewed" the domain name with Liberty Names of America who also sent him a renewal notice. I'm waiting for my customer to send me the correspondence. The domain name's status is registry lock - so I don't see how it is going to get transferred - but he has paid them the money it would seem.
|

06-28-2004, 11:04 PM
|
|
|
are you sure it was not domain resellers of america or DROA? If so these guys are scum
__________________
Domain Maven
|

06-29-2004, 12:42 AM
|
|
|
Code:
[whois.dodora.net]
Registration Service Provided By:
Registrar Name : Liberty Names of America
Registrar URL : www.lnoa.com
Registrar Email : support@lnoa.com
Registrar Phone : 905-677-7698
Domain Name : lnoa.com
Created On : 2003-08-29
Expiration Date : 2005-08-29
Last Updated On : 2004-01-29 13:35:47.75-05
Registrant ID : DGRI-R-63594
Registrant Name : Liberty Names of America, INC
Registrant Organization :
Registrant Jobtitle :
Registrant Street1 : 1623 Military Rd
Registrant Street2 : PMB 663
Registrant City : Niagara Falls
Registrant State : New York
Registrant Country : US
Registrant Postal Code : 14304
Registrant Phone : 1-877-696-5662
Registrant PhoneExtension :
Registrant FAX :
Registrant Email : support@lnoa.com
|

06-29-2004, 01:11 AM
|
|
|
Niagra Falls NY? THe vermin at DROA are out of Buffalo NY (Very close). I think they might be the same people.
__________________
Domain Maven
|

06-29-2004, 06:48 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Community Liaison
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 10,544
|
|
seems to be either same people or another company doing something like domain registration of america
__________________
Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar
|

05-15-2005, 09:28 AM
|
|
|
|
Liberty Names of America
One of my clients just received an invoice from LNOA this week. It asked for payment by check for renewal of their domain name registration, PLUS submission of their credit card number. Fortunately, when they sat down to write the check, they decided to call me to see if I knew what was going on.
LNOA is apparently searching domain registration looking for sites that need to renew soon, then sending them a bill. My client's first thought was that our registrar and host had been acquired by LNOA. He did not understand that DN registration was not the same as registration AND hosting. When I explained how this works, he was livid!
We are filing complaints with the FCC, the AG of the US, the AG of Louisiana, the Better Business Bureau, and everyone else we can think of. This is a big time scam and these people are counting on the ignorance of those people they are contacting. They will acquire a lot of domain name registrations simply because people don't know how all this works. When problems occur, I am sure they will then refer them to Adam's Web Design to fix them, since this is the first item that comes up on a google search.
Protect your clients and yourself by reporting these sleazebags. Trying to acquire business in a legitimate fashion is one thing, trying to steal it by lack of disclosure and sending out false invoices is another!
|

05-15-2005, 12:37 PM
|
|
|
Their domain's registered with DomainDiscover:
Quote:
Domain Name: LNOA.COM
Registrar: DOMAINDISCOVER
Whois Server: whois.domaindiscover.com
Referral URL: http://www.domaindiscover.com
Name Server: NS10.SERVDNS.COM
Name Server: NS11.SERVDNS.COM
Status: ACTIVE
Updated Date: 16-jul-2004
Creation Date: 29-aug-2003
Expiration Date: 29-aug-2006
|
Can someone post a copy of such a notice?
|

05-16-2005, 04:54 AM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 464
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by freakysid
Code:
[whois.dodora.net]
Registration Service Provided By:
Registrar Name : Liberty Names of America
Registrar URL : www.lnoa.com
Registrar Email : support@lnoa.com
Registrar Phone : 905-677-7698
Domain Name : lnoa.com
Created On : 2003-08-29
Expiration Date : 2005-08-29
Last Updated On : 2004-01-29 13:35:47.75-05
Registrant ID : DGRI-R-63594
Registrant Name : Liberty Names of America, INC
Registrant Organization :
Registrant Jobtitle :
Registrant Street1 : 1623 Military Rd
Registrant Street2 : PMB 663
Registrant City : Niagara Falls
Registrant State : New York
Registrant Country : US
Registrant Postal Code : 14304
Registrant Phone : 1-877-696-5662
Registrant PhoneExtension :
Registrant FAX :
Registrant Email : support@lnoa.com
|
This company is hardly American...
>> 905-677-7698
That's a telephone number in Southern Ontario, Canada
>> 1623 Military Rd
That's the address of a UPS store in Niagara Falls, NY which is frequently used by many small canadian businesses.
|

05-16-2005, 11:54 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boise, ID U.S.A.
Posts: 3,494
|
|
Traceroute on lnoa.com gives me DNS is 216.89.218.169. That netblock is registered to sectorlink.com in Holly, Michigan. Upstream is Savvis.
|

07-08-2005, 09:46 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East Coast
Posts: 35
|
|
This place is still up to no good. Just received a couple of thier emails.
__________________
••• Pete Moreno •••
Pete99.Com Hosting/Resellers
|

07-08-2005, 11:49 PM
|
|
|
they use dodora which should be a warning sign, these are the same clowns as DROA. They also own the registrar namejuice.com rumor has it
__________________
Domain Maven
|

07-28-2005, 07:26 AM
|
|
|
|
lnoa
I filed a complaint with the BBB as I mentioned before. I got a letter from them stating that Liberty Names of America (lnoa) had failed to respond to their inquiries. If they still do not respond within 60 days, they lose their BBB status and go on the "black list" with BBB. I haven't received any reply from the internet fraud division of the FCC except acknowledgement of my complaint.
I would encourage anyone who deals with these jokers to file similar complaints. It is one way to try and stop their heinous behavior!
|

10-24-2005, 07:08 PM
|
|
|
I got the same mail today about a domain of mine that's set to expire in 4 months.
The domain is actually registered with enom.
|

10-24-2005, 07:15 PM
|
|
|
I got one in the mail today as well. Just throw it in the trash.
__________________
Domain Maven
|

08-23-2007, 12:55 AM
|
|
|
It seems there is no stopping these guys. Isn't there some authority which can shut them down? Why is nothing being done? A client got this email today.
Quote:
***** ******,
Thank you for choosing Liberty Names of America for your domain name renewal. Please note that the renewal and transfer of your domain name is not complete. Before we can renew and transfer your domain name ********.com we must make your sure that the email address listed for your domain name is valid. Please click on the link below to confirm your email address ******@hotmail.com is valid or simply reply to this email so that we can complete your order.
https://www.libertynamesofamerica.co....com&sid=60174
Should you have any question about our services please contact us at sales@Lnoa.com. You can also reach Customer Service at 1.877.696.5662 between Monday to Friday 9am to 7pm EST.
Sincerely,
Customer Service
Liberty Names of America Inc.
Web: www.Lnoa.com
Tel: 1.877.696.5662
Fax: 1.905.812.0020
|
Then this as if they were paid...
Quote:
***** *****,
Thank you for choosing Liberty Names of America Inc. for your online needs. We have received payment for $40 for the following service(s)
Domain name: ********.com
The order number which you will be using for future correspondence is:
No. 10352718
Your order is being processed however, it is not yet complete. Please look forward to receiving e-mails at ******@hotmail.com to complete the process. If ******@hotmail.com is not in use anymore or if you will like to update this email address then please do so by replying back to this message.
Should you have any question about our services please contact us at sales@Lnoa.com. You can also reach Customer Service at 1.877.696.5662 between Monday to Friday 9am to 7pm EST.
Sincerely,
Customer Service
Liberty Names of America Inc.
Web: www.Lnoa.com
Tel: 1.877.696.5662
Fax: 1.905.812.0020
|
Last edited by warrenz; 08-23-2007 at 12:57 AM.
Reason: added text
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|