hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Raq Mail Problem - can't create (user) output file?
Reply

Forum Jump

Raq Mail Problem - can't create (user) output file?

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 135

Raq Mail Problem - can't create (user) output file?


I wasn't getting mail recently for the past 10 days so I sent a test mail to my Raq4 account and this is what I got from the bounced message (domains adjusted for privacy):

==========
The original message was received at Wed, 9 Jun 2004 10:05:50 +0800
from sal.test.net [999.99.99.99]

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<user@raq4server.com>
(reason: can't create (user) output file)

----- Transcript of session follows -----
procmail: Quota exceeded while writing "/var/spool/mail/user"
550 5.0.0 <user@raq4server.com>... Can't create output
==========

Does anyone know what this means? I've checked the /var/spool/mail directory and there's a file there called 'user' but I'm not sure what's wrong. Also the /var/spool/mqueue seems fine.

Thanks in advance!



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,032
Maybe the user's mail box if full?
How much quote you gave him?

(reason: can't create (user) output file)
procmail: Quota exceeded while writing "/var/spool/mail/user"

__________________
-=- GQ Hong -=-
GalacNet WebMaster

  #3  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 135
Nope I dun think so. (btw the mailbox is mine)

The account has 20 megabytes, and is empty (no mail inside).

The site itself has 1.2GB assigned to it of which around 200 megs+ is currently utilised.

I'll try a delete of the user account and recreate it to see what happens... but strange... it never happened before (and I hope it doesn't affect my other users' sites and accounts).

Problem occured after the manual patch to solve the GUI problem btw I think

[UPDATE] Damn, a delete and recreate didn't work either...


Last edited by troff; 06-08-2004 at 11:48 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 135
Okay it's working now.

Apparently the Web GUI usage monitor wasn't accurate. Though I assigned (for example) 100 megabytes and the GUI showed the free space was 50%, the actual one was atually 100%.

I pumped up the quota, and rebooted the computer and all seems fine.

Morale: Dun trust your GUI quota monitor!

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
AeroFS Launches Private File Sharing Software Web Hosting News 2013-11-22 17:00:53
Silent Circle and Lavabit Create ‘Dark Mail Alliance’ for Secure Email Web Hosting News 2013-11-01 11:25:38
Egnyte Launches Program to PRISM-Proof Enterprise Cloud File-sharing Web Hosting News 2013-09-27 13:45:48
Outbound Spam Causing Sleepless Nights? Blog 2013-05-13 09:52:21
Facebook's Recently Acquired Mobile App Platform Parse Launches Web Hosting for Developers Web Hosting News 2013-05-08 10:49:17


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?