Costco/Nova; strange goings on

There's been some discussion on this board lately about the problems with the Costco/Nova merchant accounts. Briefly, to my knowledge, most of those accounts, including mine, used the Iongate gateway. Apparently Iongate went defunct a couple of years ago, and since that time the gateway has been supported by a company called uSight. If this is of any interest to you, Google uSight. I doubt you'll be impressed.
    All the same, I've been using that gateway for a couple of years, with no problems. A couple of months back, I got an e-mail from uSight (the first I'd heard of them) informing me my gateway was going the way of the dodo bird, and it would be in my best interest to change hasta pronto over to uSight. After the aforementioned Google of uSight, I was unconvinced of the urgency of that matter, & wrote it off as a scam.
    Until I got a letter from Costco confirming that I needed to line up another gateway. Please bear with, I hope this doesn't turn into a novella. It's a long, strange story. There was a phone number in the letter, allegedly for Nova customer support. However, it turned out to be for Costco, and the person I spoke with had no clue. That's when I started to get a bad feeling about this whole thing....
    So I looked up the website for Nova, and after a few transfers actually spoke to a human. Asked for the list of recommended gateway providers referenced in the letter. The upshot of that conversation was that I was left with a few hundred possibilities to investigate on my own. That did not make me happy....