Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

ServerMatrix has some strange DNS policies

I've posted the following on the ServerMatrix forum here:
    http://forums.servermatrix.com/viewt...?p=51465#51465

Has anyone encountered this with anyone else? I've worked with a total of 9 other server leasing companies (web farms) and have never run into such a strange policy.

I have been leasing servers since 1995, but I am a new customer to ServerMatrix. We obtained one server from SM as a test case for migrating our other servers over to SM.

I encountered a problem today which I have never encountered with any other server farm.

Here is what occurred:

1) I opened a ticket requesting 8 domain names to be added to ServerMatrix (we own 3 of them, 5 are owned by customers).

Note that the customers have been notified that they must update their domain record at their registrar with the new ServerMatrix DNS servers (from experience, this can take several days for people to do after receiving their email).

2) The ticket is updated with this message:
    "We apologize but we are showing that the following domains are not registered through you..."
    5 domain names were not added.

I called ServerMatrix about this and they told me:
    (phouston-05/31/04-10:39):
    Client called and was advised that the actual owners must change entries on their registrar(s) to the planet. Once we see the change-then we will be able to add the DNS entries for him due to legal issues.

First, I would like to point out that there are no Federal laws regulating this process. If anyone disagrees with me on this, I would like to pose the challenge to provide a reference to the exact law.

No other server leasing company that I have ever worked with has had a policy such as this (I've work with 9 others since 1995).

==================================