Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: homepage

  1. #1

    homepage

    Hi,

    I am very new so please forgive my ignorance.
    I've recently made a website and now i've bought a
    dot com name and some space on a hostserver (peoplehost).
    I have pointed the name server and whenever i type in
    my dot com adress in a browser the index page with all my web-
    pages pops up.
    However i dont want the index file to pop up but one specific
    file (from the index).
    This is of course my homepage of my website.
    Could anybody tell me how to make this link...
    (i am using Cpanel and I tried a million of different things,
    unsuccesfull obviously.)
    So when sombody types in MySite.com my homepage pops up and not the index file of apache....

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tas, Australia
    Posts
    2,488
    I don't quite get your question, first you say that the index page won't show, then you say that it is showing and you don't want it to show...
    New site: www.talkutas.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    287
    Have you uploaded your own site files starting with index.htm/l /php into the public_html folder?
    HOSTPac Web Solutions
    Solid reliable Hosting - Lowest priced Domains - cPanel Multiple Domain Hosting
    Now offering space on Australian based servers!
    Put the Big Koala on your team

  4. #4
    Well all my files are under public_html
    so all these files show up in a index whenever my url of my website is typed into a browser, and not my homepage...
    I tried first to create a folder called index.html or index.html.php
    but same result

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,891
    you should have a file (not a folder) named index.html inside the public_html
    Gary Jones

    BlueFur.com - Canada Web Hosting

  6. #6
    thanks thats it!!!!
    thanks everybody!!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    1,216
    remember you must have index.html, index.htm or index.php in public_html. And that also your home page and if you are using windows hosting there are some more extensions you can use for home page like index.asp

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,891
    Originally posted by eglim
    remember you must have index.html, index.htm or index.php in public_html. And that also your home page and if you are using windows hosting there are some more extensions you can use for home page like index.asp
    If you set-up your Apache right you can have index.asp work fine on a Unix box too.
    Gary Jones

    BlueFur.com - Canada Web Hosting

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    1,216
    really. I not know about it. I know Chilli ASP and another softwrae name I not remeber for Linux. Is we run asp without these these software in Linux?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,891
    You can run Apache ASP.
    Gary Jones

    BlueFur.com - Canada Web Hosting

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    1,216
    but what about database?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •