3D design software

I was wondering if anyone had suggestions for 3D design software for a beginner? I have no experience with 3D software, but would love to learn. Cost is not an issue. I would like something that is easy to learn, but still offers powerful features.

Thanks for any input!

Mark

I say Maya if you can get a hold of it or Bryce I heard is good. I've only used Maya a few times, but it was really nice and quite easy to use.

Thanks for the info! I actually had looked at using Maya. Did you find it easy to use?

I found it easy to use, but if you do choose to use it I would get a book just to have a good reference to use it.

Maya can be expensive, but it is very easy to use and makes some nice products.

Re: 3D design software

Originally posted by xyte
    I have no experience with 3D software, but would love to learn. Cost is not an issue.

Thanks for any input!

Mark

if cost is not an issue, get 3DS Max.
    its not easy to learn it, but it does come with a very good tutorial CD...
    IWDN - Really smart web developers... and me!
    More than any time in history mankind faces a crossroads.
    One path leads to despair and utter hopelessness, the other to total extinction.
    Let us pray that we have the wisdom to choose correctly.

3ds Max, Maya, and Lightwave along with a few others are considered industry standard, as far as Bryce, don't bother with it, though ive seen a few people that can model some crazy stuff with it.

I'm using 3ds max and lightwave.

I'm now saving for bryce

3ds max has a good learning curve I must say.

Darn! I was going to reccomend 3ds Max. Search google and see what some people have made with it first.

I prefer 3ds Max. Other good packages that are overlooked are Form Z, Softimage, Zbrush, & Hash Animation Master.

You might want to try http://www.wings3d.com/