Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    237

    How to add a folder to *.tgz ?

    I tried to use winrar to add that folder to *.tgz but it didn't work,Anyone have any experience for this thing ?thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    262
    What exactly did you do, and how did it not work?

    I would think that it is more normal to add the folder to the tarball, then compress, but I've never used winrar.
    #include<cstdio>
    char*s="#include<cstdio>%cchar*s=%c%s%c;%cint main(){std::printf(s,10,34,s,34,10);}";
    int main(){std::printf(s,10,34,s,34,10);}

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,845
    a ugly way would be to extract the current tgz to a folder on a linux server, then do -

    tar -cvf sometar.tar somefolders/

    then, gzip sometar.tar

    it'll then become a tar.gz/tgz =)

    I think there is a windows based tar, though. So, you could maybe try that.

    EDIT - forgot the params on tar, heh

    ~Francisco
    BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
    - All popular VPN methods supported
    - Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
    - 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,026
    you could just do tar -cvzf and it'll gzip it, or tar -cvjf and it'll bzip2 it.
    Gone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    237
    if i using window xp,is there any software make *.tgz ? thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    2,478
    Originally posted by tinhnho
    if i using window xp,is there any software make *.tgz ? thanks
    tgz is *nix based file compression.
    Webmaster Forum webmastertalk.net Webmaster Community Forum
    Website Tools domainfocus.com Webmaster Tools | IP Lookup | Domain Whois | PageRank Checker | HTTP Header Info | Link Analysis | Favicon Generator

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    237
    i know,but i trying to zip it to *.tgz to upload to my linux host

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    2,478
    Originally posted by tinhnho
    i know,but i trying to zip it to *.tgz to upload to my linux host
    It doesn't have to be .tgz to upload it.
    Webmaster Forum webmastertalk.net Webmaster Community Forum
    Website Tools domainfocus.com Webmaster Tools | IP Lookup | Domain Whois | PageRank Checker | HTTP Header Info | Link Analysis | Favicon Generator

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    237
    can i do it to *.rar ? or *.zip ?what would u do if u were me?thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    2,478
    Originally posted by tinhnho
    can i do it to *.rar ? or *.zip ?what would u do if u were me?thanks
    Unless you're uploading a GB database, just upload the files as they are. There's no need to compress it all just for the transfer.
    Webmaster Forum webmastertalk.net Webmaster Community Forum
    Website Tools domainfocus.com Webmaster Tools | IP Lookup | Domain Whois | PageRank Checker | HTTP Header Info | Link Analysis | Favicon Generator

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    237
    it about 400kb folder ,there are about 100 file inside of that folder and couple folder inside

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    2,478
    Originally posted by tinhnho
    it about 400kb folder ,there are about 100 file inside of that folder and couple folder inside
    Grab a copy of CuteFTP, drag the folder over... voila! 10 second upload.
    Webmaster Forum webmastertalk.net Webmaster Community Forum
    Website Tools domainfocus.com Webmaster Tools | IP Lookup | Domain Whois | PageRank Checker | HTTP Header Info | Link Analysis | Favicon Generator

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    237
    can't upload to root

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    2,478
    You can if you log in as root. Otherwise you wouldn't be able to anyways.
    Webmaster Forum webmastertalk.net Webmaster Community Forum
    Website Tools domainfocus.com Webmaster Tools | IP Lookup | Domain Whois | PageRank Checker | HTTP Header Info | Link Analysis | Favicon Generator

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    262
    Originally posted by tinhnho
    if i using window xp,is there any software make *.tgz ? thanks
    I would suggest that you get 7-zip, and from there add to the gzip compressed tarball.

    .tgz is just another way of expressing the file extension of a .tar.gz compressed archive.
    #include<cstdio>
    char*s="#include<cstdio>%cchar*s=%c%s%c;%cint main(){std::printf(s,10,34,s,34,10);}";
    int main(){std::printf(s,10,34,s,34,10);}

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •