Lightbulb Chargeback Reversals?

Good day,

I sell proprietary information on my website (password access). I have been doing this since 1999 and incur approximately 2k - 3k in chargebacks each year. Never has a chargeback resulted from a lost or stolen card. The majority are from users who failed to cancel their reocurring memberships (stock trading website). The average charge is $200 monthly.

Recently an individual has disputed $425 in charges. I presented all of the material to the merchant who then represented the charges on my behalf. The credit card company refused the representment and issued the chargebacks for the second time. The reason code was initially that the member did not authorize the charges. I have presented to the credit card company (through my merchant bank) a hand written membership agreement (by the cardholder) that states the member understands that his credit card is going to be charged $200 monthly until he cancels.

So the merchant bank started pre-arbitration on my behalf with this letter. The response from the credit card company CITIBANK was this:
    The card was not present. The merchant got a signed agreement and therefore should have been able to get a signed sales slip authorizing the charge by the cardholder. The agreement the cardholder signed merely states that the cardholder agrees to a charge but does not specify that the cardholder authorized the charge to his MasterCard credit card. Cardholder maintains that the charge is not authorized.

Now, isn't that the fanciest dancing you've ever heard?

Is there any way to make this right? If my company did something like this I would be sitting in jail.

I would appreciate any help from you.

Joe Morgan

Chesapeake, VA
    It sounds like the issuing bank is justifying not reversing the chargeback based upon the fact that the card # was not on the signed agreement.