Question How To Create A Linux/Unix Software Installer?

I am a PHP programmer, and I want to be able to provide an easy installer for Linux/Unix users to assist my installations. I program MySQL also and my programs are a mix of PHP files and a database that requires installation also.

I have been looking on the web for the following information, but have not found the info I am seeking.

1. Aside from search engines, where should I look on the web for more information about programming such an installer? Does anyone have a link or two in this regard?

2. What language(s) is the installer created in? I am assuming C.

3. Are there any programs that can be downloaded or purchased that can help assist the installer creation process?

Thanks.

wscreate:

There are many UNIX/Linux installer programs located at:

http://sourceforge.net

Under the search box, type: installer

For example, here's a sample installer listing on Sourceforge:

Multi Install - A cool looking installer for multiple programs via the same menu system. Fully skinnable and with music background support and easy to use editor. Uses XML as database format. Programming language: Delphi Os: WinAll

These installer programs are mostly written in C/C++ and PHP, and include source code, that can be modified and re-used under GPL. Quite a few of the installer install PHP elements, and SQL databases. In my programming experience, the source code of open source projects were helpful, especially in implementing, and making the installers for my projects.

I hope this information is helpful.
    IM: tweak1870

I program MySQL also and my programs are a mix of PHP files and a database that requires installation also.
    Have you considered writing a PHP script to handle the installation?
    For example, phpBB uses such a script.

Otherwise, when one thinks of an installer for Linux, one would think of an rpm or debian package, but that isnt really suitable here.