Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    589

    Hostdime, network maxed out ?

    I was taking a look at hostdime and by looking at their mrtg graphs on this page:

    http://www.hostdime.com/datacenter.shtml

    It looks like all of their DS3's are maxed out (42-43 mbits / 45 mbits).

    I would be interrested to hear about current customers. Do you experience slow speeds ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    3,635
    It looks like they have plently of room on Time Warner (not sure what their actual commit is), but it's strange that they let their DS3s become so full.

    - Matt

  3. #3
    OC-48 TimeWarner

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    589
    Yes but what if your route to the server is not via TimeWarner ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    589
    Also, the speed test on their website is located at NAC ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    3,635
    Originally posted by ColoME
    OC-48 TimeWarner
    I find it hard to believe that they have a full 2+Gbps of capacity available at any time on TimeWarner. They wouldn't get 45Mbps from a bunch of companies, and then 2+Gbps on one Time Warner line. They probably have a ~200Mbps commit.

    Also, note that their ATT MRTG image hasn't updated in a while, that's not pulling real time stats.

    - Matt

  7. #7
    It seems like they update those images manually?? Why dont they just link to their real MRTG stats....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    933
    Although I don't host with host dime I must defend them, as they were very kind to me in the past.

    The reason the speed test is at NAC is that before they got their own datacenter they used NAC.

    As far as the connections goes... Well you will have to take that up with them. Seems strange to me that they would not balence them among several providers (perhaps they took into concideration that TimeWarner is an awesome network and decided to make their timewarner connection bigger and went a little crazy). Also it is strange they arent using realtime statistics, however I have talked with a few of the people there and I am pretty sure that they aren't being dishonest or misleading, it would be very out of character.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    3,635
    As far as the connections goes... Well you will have to take that up with them. Seems strange to me that they would not balence them among several providers (perhaps they took into concideration that TimeWarner is an awesome network and decided to make their timewarner connection bigger and went a little crazy).
    Bad network plan. If Time Warner goes down, what happens to the lines that are already maxed out, or only have 5Mbps or so to spare? Higher pings, packetloss, slower speeds, etc...

    - Matt

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    933
    I agree. HostDime/SurpassHosting (they are the same datacenter) needs to do some major network improvement. Personally I think they should make all their carriers OC-12 or faster.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    760
    Umm... none of their graphs are real-time: http://hostdime.com/mrtg/

    Maybe their mrtg died?
    Paradox Web Hosting - [email protected]
    - Shared and Dedicated Hosting Solutions: www.paradoxwebhosting.com
    - Auto Sales Manager 2004 now available!: www.autosalesmanager.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,294
    I had a client on hostdime they left due to network slow downs
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    298
    Originally posted by codywatkins
    Umm... none of their graphs are real-time: http://hostdime.com/mrtg/

    Maybe their mrtg died?
    We apologize for the inconvenience, MRTG is currently down due to it being adjusted to reflect our network upgrade.

    We have recently upgraded to an OC-12 from UUNET from a DS3

    We will also be dropping XO due to their bad level of support and connectivity issues.

    In best interest to give the best level of service to our clients we have made that decision.

    This will leave us with the following Tier 1 Premimum Providor Backbones

    OC-48 Ethernet Handoff TimeWarner
    OC-12 Fully Burstable UUNET/MCI
    DS3 Fully Burstable AT&T
    For any doubts or questions on the exsisting mrtg graphs, they were old and not being updated dynamically

    Which is why we felt the need to take it offline as it might have been misleading.

    We expect to have the new MRTG within a few weeks after further testing is completed.

    Regards,

    HostDime.com Management

    http://www.HostDime.com Only Premium Bandwidth NOC

    DimeNoc Data center, Orlando FL 32801

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,889
    Wait, OC-48 Ethernet handoff? How exactly does that work?
    Karl Zimmerman - Steadfast: Managed Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
    karl @ steadfast.net - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
    Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New Jersey Colocation
    Now Open in New Jersey! - Contact us for New Jersey colocation or dedicated servers

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    541
    You take a pice of fiber and run it out the side of the building and lable it OC-48 while you use the actuall fast-ethernet connection :p

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    179
    yeah, just label it and you have an oc-48

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •